We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, as always.”
Review of Casa Calabria

Casa Calabria
Ranked #23 of 115 Restaurants in Marquette
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1981, Casa Calabria has been serving up the best steaks, pasta, pizzas, salads and sandwiches. Winners of best steaks, dinner, Italian food, service and atmosphere for the past 7 years in voting fro Marquette County. Located just 2 blocks from Northern Michigan University, Duke Lifepoint Hospital and Lakeview Hockey Arena. Plenty of convenient parking and speedy take out service.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great, as always.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been going here since it was a dark and uninviting place back in the early 80s. They've certainly fixed in up (actually did years ago) and they serve up some of the finest Italian food you'll find. We put our name in the hat on a Saturday evening and were told it would be 1.5 hour wait, and they weren't kidding. When you taste the food, you'll understand why. Simply superb!

Be warned, they ony take reservations for 6 or more, so get some friends together to better avoid the long wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    46
    19
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything here is made in a microwave.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want to pay $30 for food cooked in a microwave this is your place. They made a name for themselves by dipping bread into oil and butter. Nothing on the menu is worth the price, unless you like $20 Mac and cheese. The only thing home made are the salads. Also the wine list is nothing to write home about. On their walls they claim to have the best steaks in town and I know by experience there are far better steaks in town. I have dined in restaurants all around the world and I don't understand why people eat here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler13583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
“Very disappointed tonight”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I have been eating at the Casa for the past 25+ years. The garlic bread used to be delicious! However, tonight and the last two times we ate here, the bread was terrible. There is no consistency from one meal to the next. Tonight the bread was hard, dry, and tasteless. We will not go back until the bread gets better. Kaye Vick, Marquette

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kavick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best Italian in the UP”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We drove to our in-laws for their 50th wedding anniversary which is a huge deal. They wanted and chose Casa Calabria for the food more than anything but it was a nice atmosphere casual to dressy. We had 20 people and the wait staff did a nice job taking orders and keeping up with the meal service. The food was awesome and I did not hear one complaint from anyone with ages ranging from 21 to 70 the menu pleased all, steaks and pasta with different portion sizes available. Thanks to all for a GREAT meal and it made the trip well worth while.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rxdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, but as usual very poor service.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I really like the food at Casa and the atmosphere. We are local and know there are many other good restaurants in Marquette. We usually order our food to go because the service is always so poor. Last night we wanted to eat and shop so we ate in the restaurant. The food was good but I will continue to order out. The service stunk! We asked another waitress for something and she was a sour mouth. Take to go to have the best experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Calabria also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Casa Calabria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing