We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dickeyville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I would recommend this Country Inn to everyone! Being a fellow Yooper I also find the hospitality of people from here so refreshing!!! When I called for a reservation for Thursday night, I was told that the weekend was a very busy one and most hotels were booked in the area. Upon arriving at the front desk, I was told they did have a cancellation if I wanted it for the weekend and they had called around and there wasn't much else in the area available. Wonderful customer service!!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conjoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
It's wonderful to read of your enthusiasm toward your recent stay with us during the very busy Northern Michigan University's Family Weekend. We desire not only to provide an immaculate facility with fantastic amenities, but also to promote an atmosphere of hospitality in the truest sense of the word. I'm so glad that came across to you through the customer service you received. Our staff will greatly appreciate hearing your thoughtful comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Marquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    130
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
269
127
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Judging from information available about hotels in Marquette this is probably one of the top three. We were there for a one night stay to do some shopping for a couple days so it was a good location for us--no more than 10 minutes to the adjacent small towns of Negaunee and Ishpeming or to downtown Marquette in the other direction--and the quality was very good. The room was clean and attractive, towels were soft, and noise was not a problem even though we were adjacent to the parking lot on the first floor. Breakfast was pretty standard, but plentiful. A suggestion for any hotel that offers a breakfast like this--waffles, cereals, fruit, etc.--do not offer another starch for the hot meal. It was french toast. Eggs (even the premade scrambled patties) would be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share regarding your recent stay with us! It's wonderful to read you appreciated the quality of our amenities. Thank you for your breakfast menu recommendation; we will bring it under consideration. Our hot entree rotates on a daily basis with all other menu options including a combination of eggs and potatoes or a breakfast meat to satisfy the desire for a protein packed start to the day. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

With as many cars as I saw in the parking lot for two weeks and the people coming and going, I'd say this speaks well of the Marquette Country Inn & Suites. People seem to really like it here, and the locals say it is one of the best hotels in the city. Everything was comfortable, clean, and the service staff was very friendly. The breakfast was tasty each morning to top it all off! The only downside was that their treadmill machines (2 of them) in the fitness room were very old and outdated (loud and falling apart too). I did make mention of this on the Country Inn survey they sent me and the manager responded back that they will be updating the fitness room this Fall during renovations. I will see what becomes of this, because I'm planning to go back in November to stay a few days again. Don't know if the renovations will be done by then, but hoping so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerCob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share regarding your recent experience. It is a pleasure to read your observations regarding our relationship with our guests and locals alike. Our staff thoroughly enjoys making each guest's stay relaxing and comfortable, and it's fantastic to hear that was apparent to you.

At this time we are confirming our renovation timeline, and should the Fitness Center not be redone when you return, I welcome you to take advantage of our complimentary guest pass to a local 24 hour gym for a great workout. We look forward to seeing you again in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very good value. You get a large comfortable room, convenient location and free Wi-Fi, an HD TV and free breakfast. The value here is very good and i have stayed here in the past and at other Country Inn and Suites and been happy with the properties

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at our property. I am pleased to read your visits have been consistently positive and you see a high value in our many included amenities. If you like to keep up on a workout routine while you travel, I welcome you to take advantage of our complimentary guest passes to Snap Fitness on your next time here.

We are honored you keep choosing to return and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived as tired travelers just looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable room for the night-we found it. The front desk staff were pleasant and willing to work with us on price. (we did not have reservations) We were on the main floor very near the pool and front desk and a little worried about noise-we shouldn't have been, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent travels as well as taking your time to share regarding your experience. I'm pleased to read you found our property to be clean, quiet, and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I walked in without a reservation, and were able to get the AAA rate for one night. The front desk clerk was friendly and welcoming. She even recommended a place to eat that was open on Sunday. The room was clean and spacious, with a mini-fridge and microwave. There was plenty of counter space in the bathroom. We enjoyed the always available chocolate chip cookies. Breakfast in the restaurant was decent. The hotel is on a busy highway, and there is no sidewalk, so walking to any of the nearby stores and restaurants might be difficult.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your recent stay and thought it to be lovely. I'm happy you were able to enjoy a few of our amenities including microwaves and refrigerators in every room, cookies and coffees all day long, and our Be Our Guest breakfast, The position of our hotel on the hill does tend to keep the sidewalk along the highway out of view from our parking lot, but next time feel free to utilize it or the quiet back street to walk to the mall or nearby restaurants. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was greeted immediately when I walked into the hotel by two front desk workers. They were very friendly and gave me a quick tour of the lobby. The lobby always has fresh baked cookies and coffee available. There is a Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant in the parking lot and a Starbucks nearby. I enjoyed my two night stay and would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KarNic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I'm happy to read you were welcomed and made to feel right at home. Our guests certainly appreciate the coffee and cookies available all day and the convenience of BWW just a few steps away; I'm glad you were able to enjoy those during your stay. We are honored you plan to return and look forward to providing another fantastic stay the next time you travel through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
493 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Address: 2472 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Marquette
#3 Business Hotel in Marquette
#3 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing