We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option in this delightful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed in Marquette, MI a number of times over the past two years and I have found this property to be a very good option. One of the nice things about Marquette is that you have a broad range of hotel options in terms of location, price, etc.

If you want a nice clean room for a fair price this is a fine choice. The staff is helpful, the breakfast is tasty and the rooms have all the nice amenities that one would like.

The only negatives are that the decor and art/pictures ( which I assume are dictated by headquaters) and the views do not give any hint that you are in one of the most majestic areas in the US .......my only other minor complaint is that one must get back into the car to enjoy the waterfront and downtown area. Taking a nice quiet walk right from your hotel is not an option.

Overall, I have enjoyed my stays at this hotel. This town offers a range of options and the Landmark Hotel and the new Hampton Inn in town are good choices that I have stayed at also.This hotel is often at a more reasonable price but the tradeoff is that the location is not as enjoyable.

After a long drive you can be sure that you will have a clean and comfortable room if you stay here,

Room Tip: this hotel is on a busy road.....I always request to be in a room facing the back and away from the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and comment on your recent stay in one of the most majestic areas in the US! Yes, we are fortunate to be located just a few miles from Lake Superior and the many breathtaking views Marquette affords! The next time you're in the mood for a walk, our staff would be happy to give you directions to Marquette's bike path which connects just off our back parking lot for a great outdoor option. I'm glad you enjoyed our deluxe hot breakfast and fantastic room amenities. We look forward to the next time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 619 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff was nice but the hotel was full and our room was above the pool and there were a lot of kids in the pool area and they were screaming. No one was monitoring the pool from the desk and they continued to scream. I had to turn our tv up very loud to drown out the noise level from below us.
Breakfast had good food but the eating area was very small and we had to take our breakfast back to our room. We also found that many of the patrons were in the breakfast area without shoes on, we did not find this very appetizing.
I stay in hotels all year long as my wife and I travel a lot and I travel for work. I don't feel we expect a lot but when you are paying up over $140.00 a night I expect at least to be able to sit at a table for breakfast.
Next time we will be trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay and for your kind words regarding our staff. We endeavor to give each guest a wonderful, relaxing experience and your feedback is helpful to us to make sure that happens. We are looking into long-term solutions to increase our breakfast space to help ease the traffic flow, and in the meantime are pleased to offer additional seating in our Conference Room. I’m sorry for the noise you encountered during your stay; that is atypical of our property. We would appreciate the opportunity to host you again and offer you a peaceful room on our third floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Outstanding facilities....rooms were clean.....but more importantly, the staff is excellent. We were traveling on our motorcycles and got delayed in the morning with rain....no problem with extended check out time. Then to boot, the staff had towels for us to wipe the bikes down so we were ready to roll. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor about your recent experience with us! I'm so glad to hear our staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable by accommodating a late check-out time and providing towels to wipe down your motorcycles. We trust you had a great trip and look forward to providing another excellent stay on your next one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We vacation in the UP every year and stay at different hotel. We were not impressed with many of the hotels in the past until we found this. It is a great place to stay and is close to everything in Marquette. I stayed here with may family for 2 days and was very impressed with the clean rooms and pool. We used it everyday of our vacation and had a great time. We will stay here again on our annual vacation to the UP next year. There is a BW3 next to the hotel, so I had a beer there and didn't have to drive, which was nice. There is also a cool dive across the street called Hudson's which as a good Lake Superior whitefish and vintage metal signs. You will be happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremymartinss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We're grateful that you took the time to write regarding your excellent experience with us on your recent visit to Marquette! We're so glad we could provide a comfortable, clean, and cozy haven for your family vacation. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel is set-back from the road, so most rooms are probably very quiet. We were on the back-side, so even nicer.
Hotel has a really nice business center (separate room, so you can really get a lot done)
The desk in the room even had USB ports, so really easy to charge your phone.
Breakfast was good, and setup adjacent to their conference rooms, so with the walls opened-up, there was PLENTY of room to enjoy your meal.
This area of town has a lot of your usual chains, so easy to find a place to eat (if you don't want to head downtown)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gewf631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write about it! I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe breakfast and took advantage of our Meeting Room space for your business needs and overflow breakfast seating. We look forward to providing another great experience the next time you travel to Marquette!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and accomodating. This was a family vacation and included our grandchildren, one of which is going through the "terrible twos". She can shriek pretty loud and I was concerned about disturbing other guests. We put her and her family in an end room and we stayed in the room next door. We never heard a sound, even though her mother said she raised quite a ruckus. So the rooms are very well sound insulated. As other posters have mentioned, the breakfast room can be quite busy with poor traffic flow. We ended up taking our breakfast to our rooms a couple of mornings. The only issue we had was a toilet flushing problem in the end room, but we lived through it. Overall, a very nice hotel and we'll certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganMom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We appreciate your time in writing regarding your recent experience with us! I'm glad we were able to provide a comfortable and quiet stay as a setting for your family vacation. We hope to be your home-away-from-home again next time you stay in our beautiful Marquette area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Recently visited Marquette and stayed at this hotel. Very nice, room was very nice. the staff was couteous, helpful and professional. The location is good. The breakfast was very nice. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us! I'm glad we were able to provide a pleasant experience and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
501 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#5 of 19 in Marquette
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette

Address: 2472 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marquette
#3 Green Hotel in Marquette
#3 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $133 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing