We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in town but new and very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
Level Contributor
279 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Not in town but new and very comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

If you're staying in Marquette the options are somewhat limited - you won't find any Marriotts or Hiltons but you will find many "midlevel/budget" hotels on the highway leading out of town. This is probably the best of them. The usual Country Inn and Suites - nice rooms, flat-screen tv's, fairly large baths ,small micro and fridge, smallish pool and exercise room. Free morning breakfast. I stay here for business and it's always a nice stay - I think it might be one of the newer hotels and is very clean and well-kept.

Room Tip: Not much to look at here so the room location probably not an issue. I prefer close to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatienceWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    124
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
254
121
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Even though it is an okay chain we choose it because our friends really liked it.

I have to say we did too! When you walk in the lobby is so inviting ... where did they get that huge stuffed bear?

The staff was so friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

An excellent hotel in every respect, clean, quiet, comfortable, very friendly staff. Appears to be newly constructed (last 2 or 3 years).

The hotel sits up on a hill that is well above the highway, so there should not be any problems with road noise. The rooms at the rear of the hotel face onto a forest and are totally quiet, no outside sounds at all.

Shop around for the rates before you book - the government rate is $78 a night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of the hotel overlook a forest and are totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is our third Christmas spent in Marquette where we've stayed at the Country Inn. The front desk service we received from Chris on check-in was warm, friendly, and sincere.

I have stayed at numerous "luxury" hotels around the globe, but it is only at this hotel that when you are welcomed by the staff, it is very evident that the staff means it! The employees are caring and thoughtful.

Breakfast is always consistent with more than enough options.

The rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Having spent many years traveling to Marquette while our son attended NMU, and trying several area motels, we were happy to find this gem. We were in town for one night so our daughter could attend Wildcat Weekend at NMU. Apparently the word is out as the hotel was completely booked with many other families there for the same reason. I feared that would cause our night to be noisy and that the complimentary breakfast buffet would be a mess. I was wrong on both counts. Our room was beautiful, clean and very quiet with beds that were especially comfortable. The breakfast room was very busy that morning, as I expected, but it was continuously cleaned and the food replenished. The location right on Hwy. 41 means that this motel is convenient to anywhere you want to go in Marquette. It was a pleasure to stay at such a well run property.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JenFam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
374 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This is a beautiful, award-winning property convenient to downtown and NMU, as well as the mall. It is extremely quiet in a lovely setting.
The inside, beginning with the lobby is immaculately clean and inviting. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast room, managed excellently by Michael C., was well stocked and plentiful with many different choices, including waffles, eggs, sausage, several breads and homemade granola.
Check in and check out were handled efficiently, even in the middle of a power outage! Stay here for a guaranteed clean room and great amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are odd numbered and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This place is a great place to stay. The check in process was superb; the room was great; the continental breakfast was awesome. It is located right next door to the new Buffalo Wild Wings; this means by staying at this motel the patrons can walk right next door to another great experience.

If I had anything negative at all to say about the stay, it would be that it's a little pricey. Marquette is basically out in the middle of nowhere; however, their rates here were more than in a few larger cities that we stayed in with the same chain.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which room you stay in. The hotel isn't that huge to have to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
31 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Address: 2472 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marquette
#3 Family Hotel in Marquette
#3 Green Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn And Suites
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing