We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Like It!! A Must See!!”

Lakenenland Sculpture Park
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marquette, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Like It!! A Must See!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Lakenenland. Great for people of all ages. Visitor friendly. A unique Outdoor Art Sculpture Park that is fun to visit in every season. Even though I live in the area, everytime I go to the Park there is something new added. It is a great cross-country ski venture. We take all our visitors there and it is always on their itinerary upon return trips!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    48
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Free, entertaining art!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This "junkyard art" sculpture park is entertaining, funny, and makes you wonder how they came up with their ideas! They are constantly adding new sculptures. It's open in winter, so you can snowmobile through it (and they have hot drinks, snacks, and a campfire so you can warm up before/after). There's no admission fee, though there's a place you can leave donations (and rightly so!).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank batty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The aliens have landed in the UP”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The giant tyrannosaurus holding a fish caught our eye as we were heading from Munising to Marquette and I said to my wife "Let's stop on the way back and take a picture." What a surprise when we found there was a whole collection of these creative sculptures scattered throughout the trees. I can't add much to what others have already said other than I highly recommend you stop by if you are in the area. There is a surprise around every corner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank finlanderfromfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perhaps better than I've indicated”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The 60+ pieces are a mix of whimsical, funny, patriotic, and political. Less "polished" than I anticipated (therefore, my rating) BUT I'd be willing to bet that younger children will really enjoy most of the pieces. Just take your time, to allow your children, and yourself, to fully embrace the art, and to share a laugh or three.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This park is filled with interactive metal sculptures that can be seen by foot or by car. The sculptures are situated along a winding path that is filled with surprises around each bend, and you can see peaks of what is to come through the trees. There is enough here to keep kids entertained and adults amused for hours. Best of all - it's free! However, visitors are able to leave a donation if they wish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakenenland Sculpture Park also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Lakenenland Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing