We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The aliens have landed in the UP”

Lakenenland Sculpture Park
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The aliens have landed in the UP”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The giant tyrannosaurus holding a fish caught our eye as we were heading from Munising to Marquette and I said to my wife "Let's stop on the way back and take a picture." What a surprise when we found there was a whole collection of these creative sculptures scattered throughout the trees. I can't add much to what others have already said other than I highly recommend you stop by if you are in the area. There is a surprise around every corner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank finlanderfromfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    43
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perhaps better than I've indicated”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The 60+ pieces are a mix of whimsical, funny, patriotic, and political. Less "polished" than I anticipated (therefore, my rating) BUT I'd be willing to bet that younger children will really enjoy most of the pieces. Just take your time, to allow your children, and yourself, to fully embrace the art, and to share a laugh or three.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This park is filled with interactive metal sculptures that can be seen by foot or by car. The sculptures are situated along a winding path that is filled with surprises around each bend, and you can see peaks of what is to come through the trees. There is enough here to keep kids entertained and adults amused for hours. Best of all - it's free! However, visitors are able to leave a donation if they wish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's easy to miss, we were driving along and saw it out of the corner of my eye as we drove past. Had to do a U turn and then drove through. It was fun, whimsical, some satire thrown in. well worth turning around for, we'll got back again to see what he adds

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tudor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
511 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Different, Original, Well Worth a Visit!!!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Tom Lakenen is a welder of Finnish origin.
In his free time (When power plants are working at full capacity and his skills are not required), Tom collects scrap metal of all sorts and creates original sculptures, some serious, some humorous and others carrying various messages.
Following some haggling and wrist wrestling with the authorities, Tom managed to secure a piece of land just east of Marquette and has turned it into a beautiful sculpture garden.
You can walk or drive through the garden, winding your way through a little forest and enjoying Tom's works.
His welding expertise enables Tom to do wonderful things with metal. For example - Note the detail on the two lumberjacks' shoes......
The garden is constantly changing and expanding with new works being introduced all the time.
Tom has also built a cute little bandstand at the site where live concerts are held occasionally.
If you are lucky and Tom is around, be sure to approach him to hear his story and learn some more about his beautiful project.
If you have the time, take the little wetlands boardwalk Tom has built nearby (Very narrow and not suitable for little children!!).
There is no entrance fee (Donations are welcome) and the park is suitable for all ages.
Be sure to stop by. You'll love it!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakenenland Sculpture Park also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Lakenenland Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing