We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and great staff”

Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Marquette
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Dover
Level Contributor
141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Food was good. Great variety and prices were market. I had a pasta dish, which was just right in my books. Just enough food, as I was very hungry and came to the table, hot and fresh. The waitress was very helpful and cheerful. She clearly enjoyed her job.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett P, Manager at Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We are happy to know of your positive experience with us. Anyone can bring their appetite to Hudson's because we have dishes for everyone. From the kids menu portions to the challenging Big Daddy Rig or Double Dog Dare, we have dishes for whole families. Thanks for your review and rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    80
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
463 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Convenient and ok veggie burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is located near the Comfort Inn where we stayed. We got back late from our Pictured Rocks cruise in Munising, so we were hungry. Hudson's had our food read pretty quick and since we are vegetarians the Veggie Burger was a good option. The food was pretty good, but not great. A good place to eat when you just want to take it back to your room.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett P, Manager at Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for this review. Our Veggie Burger is a good option for our vegetarian friends. We can also make our wraps without meat if you would prefer that style of meal, too. Our location is very convenient for Comfort Suites and Days Inn guests. They are always welcome to dine in or take out our food to their rooms to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
“Menu doesn't reflect offerings or prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food here wasn't horrible, but nothing special. Mostly fried, diner style food. I probably wouldn't go back. We went to this place because we were told they served fresh whitefish. The menu even said "Fresh Lake Superior Whitefish!!" However, after asking the waitress(whom didn't know the answer to most of our questions, but was pleasant and happy to find out for us) we discovered the fresh lake superior whitefish was actually frozen. We did eventually find out they did have two fresh fried fish specials, but were out of the whitefish option by the time we got there at 8 PM.

The fajitas we got had huge portions. Nothing fancy, rice from a bag, chicken, peppers, onions and lots of cheese/rice/tomatoes. Two people at our table ordered fajitas with guacamole, but were charged $.50 for guac on one, $1.00 on the other. Additionally, we ordered a cup of soup with our meal. The menu stated "Add a cup of soup or salad for $1.99" next to the dinner meals. We were charged $3.75 for the soup, then told the waitress it was charged incorrectly. She spoke with her manager and they decided that it didn't actually mean you could add soup for $1.99; it meant you could replace one of your sides for $1.99. We showed them the wording on the menu and they chose still not to take the charge off. It's not a lot of money, but they should change their menu to more accurately reflect what they offer and how much it costs.

Bar was a plus. Server was nice, but had to ask somebody else to answer most of our questions. Very quiet, fast seating. "Fresh Lake Superior Whitefish" is actually frozen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redwingshockygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett P, Manager at Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the review... our menu actually features a wide selection of lunch and dinner entrees from salads and wraps to steaks and garden or turkey burgers that include sides from the fryer or the "healthier" option of mixed veggies or broccoli. If you can save room for dessert, our mud pies are also piled high and the apple crisp will tantalize your senses!

I would like clarify that our whitefish product is NEVER frozen. We order it weekly from Thill's Fish House in Marquette. Our whitefish dinner is in our TOP TEN most ordered food items throughout the year!

If it were possible for me to view your receipt, I could clarify the cause of the excess charges (server or POS).

The "Add a cup of soup or salad for $1.99" is for orders including entrees only. If the soup or salad is ordered individually, they are charged at full price.

If you would please reply to my private message of your review, we can resolve this with the server and manager who were working that day.

Happy Wednesday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
899 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and service, food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Just average burgers served by a friendly staff in a nice themed restaurant. Good prices on drink specials and the home fried potato chips were excellent (and plentiful)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett P, Manager at Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Our home fried potato chips ARE quite delicious and many people like to dip them in Ranch Dressing! We are happy to offer $1 of 25oz after 5pm Sunday through Thursday! We always have those $2 PBRs and $3 Margaritas, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go for the beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Beer was very good, we tasted several during our week stay in the hotel nearby and weren't disappointed. Food wasn't that great, mostly because all options were deep fried or fatty. It would be so much nicer to have some low fat options. Maybe a baked potato (hold the cream and sour cream) of rice instead of fries. But all restaurants in the neighbourhood do the same thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aime_voyager87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett P, Manager at Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Our beer IS good, yes... We are happy to feature Ore Dock brews and KBC like Widowmaker on tap!

Our late night menu is the only menu that is all deep fried items. Our regular menu has selections from Hudson's salads, steaks, burgers, wraps, soups and delicious desserts. Fryer items as sides can be replaced by mixed veggies or broccoli, too.

We are certainly not like all restaurants in the neighborhood. We have a few unique items and practices that even franchises can't perform thanks to our locally owned operations. We our proud to have the Hudson's name without the corporate controls other restaurants may have. We can and do consider every guests concerns/suggestions provided verbally or via these review sites. Baked potato... good idea!

Thanks for the review. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing