We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is as good as it gets on the south shore of Superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lawry's Pasty Shop

Lawry's Pasty Shop
Ranked #25 of 114 Restaurants in Marquette
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: LAWRY'Spasties.comThis has been a U.P. tradition since 1946 and they have a web site where you can order and have them shipped. 1-877-485-4041
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is as good as it gets on the south shore of Superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you want the best pasty's in the area go here. The north shore of lake Michigan may have better but I did not find them. The menu also included Cudighi which is unusual in itself.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient, tasty, open later than most!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lawry's Pasty Shop (mainly a take-out place) was a very welcome surprise as we rolled into Marquette on a Sunday when it appeared most of the local restaurants (fast food excluded) were closed. When traveling, we really enjoy exploring the local fare & food establishments over national/regional chain restaurants. We ordered Lawry's beef pasty's and took them back to the Island Cabin, on Republic Island where we were staying $ enjoyed them thoroughly. The pasty's (pronounced, "pass-Tee", as we learned thanks to a cash register magnet at Lawry's), were flakey & not too heavy & the beef gravy was light, smooth & flavorful. A decent, peppery Zin really made the meal pop as we relaxed on the Island Cabin's deck watching the Michigamme River meander through Republic, MI's countryside. Lawry's has locations in a couple of U.P. towns; pretty sure I saw one in Houghton when we were up there! If you're up in the Lake Linden area, drive out to Pancho's! It's a great blueberry farm where you can pick your own or just purchase (like we did) a massive 5 # box for a cheap $13 - makes for a great dessert!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheckster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A pleasanr memory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

When I told someone, we had stopped for pasties in Marquette, his immediate response was "Lawry's." Clearly for locals this is mostly a takeout restaurant but, as we were passing through, we ate at one of the three or so tables provided. Service is at the counter. Nothing fancy, but this stop sure did satisfy my yen for a typical Yupper pasty: warm, big enough for two seniors to share, reasonably priced, delivered with a smile. A pleasant memory.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pasties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Got a recommendation to eat here & were totally satisfied - best pasties we have ever had. The place came recommended by 2 Cornish gentlemen. And yes, there was rutabaga in the pasties! Lawry's is mostly a take-out place but there is an area for inside seating as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawry's Pasty Shop also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Lawry's Pasty Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing