We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

staff is excellent--caring and very hospitable, accommodation to persons with special needs,good parking,very clean,comfy beds, nice pool and hot tub, lovely view of Lake Superior and good location to town and NMU, way expensive for a supposed discount hotel,free breakfast is a lot of processed junk with some fair offerings, do sign up for Hilton Honors pints--apply for am Ex Gold card

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank W9386QIbarbarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is always great when our guests share their experiences with others. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    92
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
246
223
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

I wish someone would tell me how a person gets a room with a view in a hotel. Is there a trick you could share?

We stay at Hamptons a lot and usually like them. This time, we paid 50% more for a room than we usually do in order to be on the waterfront and to have a room with a view. We checked in at 2:30, thinking there would be many rooms available that early only to be told that all the king rooms with a view were taken. We were incredulous and highly disappointed. We were finally offered a room "with a view"...a damp two queen in the walk out basement next to the guest laundry. The "view" was out on the busy boardwalk. So...what did we get for the high price we paid? A view of the parking lot.

High price + extremely disappointed guests = a less than average Hampton.

Room Tip: Don't count on a having a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area again.

Thank you,
Reed Benton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great staff, very nice rooms, easy walking to restaurants and bars downtown but in a quiet location along the waterfront. Nice park and walking area in front of the hotel. Our room let out directly into the pool which I had never seen before but was great for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
I am Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Marquette area. Warm Regards, Reed Benton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great staff and beautiful place to stay. My top recommendation in the UP! The pool is wonderful and the proximity to downtown and the view make this a truly wonderful and unique hotel. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is always great when our guests share their experiences with others. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Although we were not in Marquette for the "Ore to Shore" bicycle race, many other people were and the hotel was completely booked. Despite that, we received excellent service in every single respect. The hotel was spotless, our room was lovely (with a bit of a view of Lake Superior), the breakfast staff kept the buffet well stocked and clean, and they even "valet parked" our bicycles (we're casual riders) in the back office. We needed to do laundry and that area was clean as a whistle too! Every member of the staff we encountered was warm, welcoming and eager to be of service. Would that every hotel experience could measure up to this one! Absolutely awesome.

One caveat: We stayed here using HiltonHonors points. I'm glad of that because the nightly rate of around $229 or so seems quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I am happy to hear you enjoyed you staff and all our wonderful hotel has to offer. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Marquette area.

Warm Regards,
Reed Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I have always been impressed with the Hilton Brand and because it was close to the college my daughter was visiting. I was very impressed with the hotel itself, the staff and the location within town, yet close to Northern Michigan University. If my daughter decides to go to NMU, this hotel will always be the first place I check when I visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank stager145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great pride in making sure your stay is a comfortable one. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlevoix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our room had an excellent view of Lake Superior. The hotel is just a short walk to the downtown area. There is a nice walking path along the lakeshore right outside of the hotel. The rooms were very clean. They had a welcoming staff that was very helpful. The suggestion they gave us for a restaurant was perfect. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review about our hotel. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#10 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing