We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
marquette, United States
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff was incredibly friendly and helped me out with many things including an Ice scrapper for my car. With the cold weather in Michigan it really helped me out! The complimentary breakfast was so good and it even changes menus from day to day! It was always hot and fresh. Such a friendly and professional atmosphere. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area! 10/10 Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you Tom for your fantastic review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Marquette. Our staff strives to anticipate and exceed the needs of our guests. I am glad we could provide you with an ice scrapper. They are defiantly a necessity in our winter climate. It’s also great that you could warm up while enjoying our great on the house hot breakfast! We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
The Hampton Inn Marquette Waterfront Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    96
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
257
229
30
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Everyone that worked there was so friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. The pool area was great. We went there for a wedding Can't wait to back there in the summer time. We had lake view, it was beautiful:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you Rose J for your great review of the Hampton Inn Marquette Waterfront. It is always great when others share their experiences with others. Our employee’s dedication to service that makes us the premier destination in Marquette. You kind works will be shared with our entire staff.


Sincerely,
You friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is only 2 blocks from all the great activity of Downtown Marquette and you also have a beautiful view of Marquette Harbor! The most clean and well maintained Hotel I have stayed in! The bead was so comfortable, the sheets were plush, and the pillows were perfect. We laid down before going out, and almost didn't want to get out of bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am thrilled your stay was an enjoyable one. I agree our beds and bedding are extremely comfortable. Again thank you for your review I will be sharing it with our entire staff.

Your friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Twp., United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is clean and uniquely located on the shore of Lake Superior. The lake view rooms offer a great view. The saltwater pool was a pleasant surprise. If you're looking for a place to stay when you're in Marquette, Mi you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Theodore P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I’m Reed Benton, general manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for your positive feedback. It is always great when our guests share their experiences for others to see. We look forward to your return.

Your Friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This motel is conveniently located and is brand new. The staff was friendly and helpful and the accomodations were very good. The room rate was a bit high we thought because it is just a regular Hampton Inn. The only difference is that it is on the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a delightful comment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

New Hampton Inn by Lake Superior in Marquette , MI. Excellent facilities. Clean, large, comfortable rooms. Caring and helpful staff. Reasonably good breakfast. Very clean and new. Great views of Lake Superior. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank WashTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. We take great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. We’re delighted that you were able to utilize so many of our fantastic amenities. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just ignore the breakfast buffet and you will be OK. The food was some of the worst I have ever eaten, in fact I could not eat it. Go to one of the many good restaurants in town. This hotel is new, therefore the rooms are very nice. The staff at this Hampton Inn is excellent. The only issue other than the food is the price, a little high in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. Although I was glad to read in your review that you found our staff to be excellent, I understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. I am sorry if you found our breakfast quality to be sup-par. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve the quality and selection of our offerings.

We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855-4624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing