We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Marquette”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Marquette”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

New Hampton Inn by Lake Superior in Marquette , MI. Excellent facilities. Clean, large, comfortable rooms. Caring and helpful staff. Reasonably good breakfast. Very clean and new. Great views of Lake Superior. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank WashTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. We take great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. We’re delighted that you were able to utilize so many of our fantastic amenities. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    97
    30
    5
    9
See reviews for
260
233
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just ignore the breakfast buffet and you will be OK. The food was some of the worst I have ever eaten, in fact I could not eat it. Go to one of the many good restaurants in town. This hotel is new, therefore the rooms are very nice. The staff at this Hampton Inn is excellent. The only issue other than the food is the price, a little high in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. Although I was glad to read in your review that you found our staff to be excellent, I understand that you were disappointed with a few issues and sincerely apologize for this. I am sorry if you found our breakfast quality to be sup-par. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve the quality and selection of our offerings.

We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide with everything you are accustomed to receive. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I liked staying in Marquette-Waterfront Hampton, which was my very first stay here. Very clean and nice, helpful staff. They also told me about a reasonable rate that my Company was allowed which caused me to stay here vs. Holiday Inn where I'm a Priority Club member. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's always nice when others share their experiences with others. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again next time you are in the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

this newly constructed hotel is on the waterfront. It's within walking distance of several high end restaurants. The workout facility overlooks the lake and the fresh baked cookies are an added bonus after a long work day. This is a definite lodging choice for anyone coming to Marquette for business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Marquette Waterfront. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we able to enjoy so many of our fantastic amenities. We truly appreciate your business and look forward seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beautiful view of the lake at all times. It is of the views that you never loose interest in. Close to shopping and places to eat. We ate all three nights within walking distance of our hotel. Breakfast was different every morning with a great selection of fruits, breads and cereals. Staff was very helpful and kind. Enjoyed have coffee 24 hours a day. The cookies in the evening were great and there was a good selection. Everything was very clean and well maintained with little wear appearance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adriane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I’m Reed Benton, general manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for your positive feedback. It is always great when our guests share their experiences for others to see. We look forward to your return.

Your Friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful lobby, friendly staff. The room was very nice and a perfect place to visit our son. The view from breakfast was simply the best! The complimentary breakfast was decent as those go. I would stay again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terri1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms as well as our on the house hot breakfast. You kind words will be shared with our entire staff. Again thank you for taking the time to post a response on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Check in was quick and easy. Front desk staff were fun, funny and welcoming. Room was great and clean. Beautiful view of the water and location of hotel was convenient to great resturants and shopping. I would reccomend anyone to stay here at anytime!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I’m Reed Benton, general manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your loyalty to the Hampton brand. I’m glad you found your stay to be an enjoyable one. Our staff works diligently to make every guest’s stay enjoyable. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Reed Benton and the entire Hampton Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855-4624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing