We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Cow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Donckers

Donckers
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Diner, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheboygan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holy Cow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had no idea about this place. I'm new to the area and working 3 days a week in Marquette. All I wanted was a cup of coffee to go but once I was upstairs, my senses went into overdrive. I got the strawberry salad...it's to die for. I have found my favorite restaurant!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glidinalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Donckers, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Welcome to Marquette! Thanks so much for letting us know about your Donckers' experience. We love hearing customer feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    111
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recommended by our local resident friends, with good reason. We had a light lunch, salads mostly, delighted by the variety. Great veggie chips and homemade mac & cheese. The hand mixed root beer was a bit light on flavor. Great selection of candies and chocolates, not the best ever, but very good. A nice experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HemlockHill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A must visit in Marquette!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

During our week stay in Marquette my husband and I visited Donckers almost everyday because the sweets were that good! Breakfast was also tasty and in such a fun atmosphere. We plan on visiting again when we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmcvittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Donckers, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for having fun with us while you were visiting Marquette. Our handcrafted chocolates, caramels and fudge are made with the finest all natural ingredients and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our sweets so much! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch, the sandwiches where the best I've had in a long time. The staff was great, the bread (focaccia) was very flavorful and just the right amount of crispy. Top quality chicken, turkey, bacon and vegetables! Don't forget to get dessert at the candy shop on your way out! YUMMY!

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Donckers, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We incredibly happy to hear that our sandwiches," were the best that you had in a long time." We are glad that you enjoyed our house made focaccia. Thank you for noticing that we use top quality ingredients. Thanks so much for your valuable input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Must See and Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Anyone visiting Marquette MUST experience Donckers. I have lived in Marquette for over forty years and still enjoy my Donckers visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Manager at Donckers, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are truly thankful to hear that you like us after all these years! We are tremendously grateful to have such amazing and longstanding customers.Thank you so much for your thoughtful response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donckers also viewed

 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Donckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing