We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than chocolates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donckers

Donckers
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Diner, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marquette, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than chocolates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We almost didn't stop because of the emphasis. Of chocolates on their website. Glad we saw "restaurant" decided to check it out, #1 rating after all. Lunch was better than expected, delicious
Soup and sandwiches. Great college kids working, even an elevator and clean restrooms. Makes us want to come back to try everything on the menu. Don't miss the soda fountain. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimbobPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    111
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A "Must" Stop During Your Visit to Marquette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have recently returned from a long weekend in the UP. During my stay, I enjoyed breakfast all three days at this Marquette legend. And, let me tell you, the food was outstanding but the service and friendliness of the staff were unparalled. Cheery service. Also, be sure to buy some of their chocolates during your visit. Absolutely scrumptious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

A must for anyone traveling. Great chocolates and other gifts. A local shop with great, friendly college students. A must stop for anyone traveling here. Great area to walk around in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the caramels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I bought some fleur de sel caramels here that we're to die for. So good! The sea foam and turtles were also quite good. The staff was very friendly and helpful even when we arrived 10 minutes before closing time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mojomuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast was delicious! We had waffles and french toast with real maple syrup, yummy fresh squeezed OJ and coffee that was always full. They had some different breakfast sandwiches, like the breakfast Reuben, which I loved! Service was friendly and readily available. If ever back in Marquette will be stopping back!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meshell1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donckers also viewed

 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Donckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing