We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Find Yourself”
Review of Sugarloaf Mountain

Sugarloaf Mountain
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Find Yourself”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A place that just took my breath away. The hike was a little bumpy, but to be expected so don;t wear flip flops or stilettos and you'll be fine. The views were amazing and if you get their during off peak times you can find yourself being the only one up there. The views of the hilly terrain and the cold waters of Lake Superior will give your camera a chance to capture the beauty of the Upper Peninsula. I would recommend this place to anyone that can manage the walk up, its well worth the trek!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cityboyctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    48
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hod Hasharon
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great Views!! Worth the Climb!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Daphne, our host at Blueberry Ridge B&B (Covered separately) sent us there.
You get there by driving north on Lakeshore Boulevard and turning left onto Hawley Street, which is also road #550. Sugarloaf Mountain is on you right and there is a large wooden sign at the entrance on the right. There is convenient parking at the site.
There are two ways (clearly marked) to climb - The easy was with lots of wooden stairs and the difficult way which is quicker but more of a hike. We went up one way and came down the other, so as not to miss anything.....
The climb is short and takes some 10 to 15 minutes including scenery stops on the way.
There are wooden deck platforms on the top for enjoying great views of lake Superior and the forests around you.
Ours was a clear day and you could see forever.
There was a cool breeze blowing off the lake which was pleasant after the hot climb. We sat in the shade provided by the platform and relaxed while enjoying the fantastic views.
Very warmly recommended, for the whole family!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An All-Time Favorite Hike”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Maybe I'm biased, having grown up in the area, but I have since left, hiked many trails, visited lots of National Parks, and Sugarloaf Mountain remains one of my favorite short hikes, especially if you can hike it in the Fall. It's a bit of an uphill climb to get to the top, but once there, the views are worth it - beautiful wooded vistas leading up to Lake Superior's edge. We do this trail every time we return to the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great View - Do Not Miss”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great overlook of Marquette and Lake Superior about five miles north of town. Climb several sets of stairs, not a strenuous feat, or follow a series of ramps to the top. Pick a clear day and you will be able to see for miles.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoyed the trip through the woods and up sugarloaf. Amazing view and easy to follow trails. Some level of endurance is required but not too bad at all. My 73 year old father enjoyed it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarloaf Mountain also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Sugarloaf Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing