We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Days Inn Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Marquette
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Found this hotel on TripAdvisor during a road trip, and the high rating here is very well deserved. Clearly this is a super well managed property. Very clean, lots of amenities for the hotel class (indoor pool open to midnight, the usual free breakfast), free wifi, good selection of cable channels, and even some mining / UP memorabilia in the lobby.

I showed up at 11pm with no reservation and got the hotels.com / AAA rate, friendly service, and lots of advice about things to do in the area (including info on discounts / delivery from the nearby Perkins or Hudson's Roadhouse, two restaurants owned by the same family that owns the hotel).

It's not the InterContinental or the Ritz, but for its class it is stellar -- best I've stayed in yet on this cross-country drive. (By the way, Marquette seems very cool in general; I just wish I had more time to explore than the 20 minutes I spend walking around on my way through a few days ago!)

The only real flaw I found was there was no convenient place to plug in my laptop and have the cord reach the bed, without unplugging the clock/radio. That's not much of a flaw!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We can't do much better than "Perfect", but we're always striving to do so. We've been fortunate to find and develop a staff that truly buys into the Guest Service aspect of hospitality. And you are right - Marquette is a very cool place to visit. Our staff is well versed in where to direct our guests to show off the best our area has to offer. We hope you can stay longer on your next trip through the area!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    290
    152
    47
    18
See reviews for
420
151
37
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel last week and had a very good experience. The location is great- right in the middle of things, close to restaurants and close to town. The staff is excellent-- very nice people, excellent service both days and nights.

Nice having two good restaurants on each side of us, and all of Marquette, including this property, has a nice "safe" feel to it. Very comfortable.

The room was spotlessly clean, but small. Very small. We upgraded to the king sized bed with couch.... it was.... tight. Smallest of the rooms we stayed in during our entire vacation. But no noise from the hallways, and the bed was VERY comfortable. The AC worked great too.

Would we stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of our Days Inn on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that we were able to impress you with our staff service and attitude during your stay here. It's true that our hotel was constructed at a time when the standard room was not as large as today's. We've worked hard to keep our rooms updated, with Flatscreen TV's and now microwaves and fridges in every room, but sometimes adding the amenities that travelers love can make a room "tight" as you mentioned. But overall, we're very happy that you had a great stay and we look forward to your return someday.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We landed here by chance. While researching the local area of Marquette for a place to golf I was told of a web site ran by a radio station that offered all kinds of deals for businesses in the area. Not only did we land a deal on golf but we picked up one night here in a king room plus two $20 food vouchers for $80 (about $20 less then the room alone). Great start! The staff was fantastic checking us in and answering our questions. The room, while older, was nicely remodeled with a sofa and recliner and a flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable, the water pressure good, and the air worked perfectly. The pool area was real nice and I especially enjoyed the adult hot tub area and the idea of a seperate kids only hot tub area. We normally stay at other properties when we visit Marquette but I can tell you we've found a new first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan54669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with others. I'm happy to read that we impressed you and you were able to grab one of our terrific golf packages. I hope that Greywalls (rated Michigan's #2 course) lived up to your expectations. We also offer packages to the area's newest attraction, Marquette Harbor Cruises, and have had a terrific response to those as well. It's nice to see that we've become your new choice when in Marquette. We look forward to serving you again!

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Trip advisor reviews were right on. We were very satisfied with our stay. The area was quiet and safe, the rooms clean and the staff friendly. They also like motorcyclists. It is walking distance to at least two resturants- more if you feel adventurous and want to cross US 41. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I liked everything about this hotel except the pillows. If only Days Inn would buy fluffy AND thin pillows. There were 4 pillows on the bed- all fluffy. 2 each would have been perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorcycleTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We're glad that our staff and facilities lived up to your expectations as you biked across the U.P. We've made some special arrangements for cyclists, including offering a special rate (we call it our HOG Rate, but all makes qualify) and offering complimentary rags at the desk to clean the bikes. We are also transitioning to a higher quality pillow in all of our rooms, and will be able to offer both firm and soft to our guests. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very clean and nice hotel. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker and hairdryer, and also an in-room safe. The staff was excellant. They greeted everyone everytime someone walked in or out of the hotel. The front desk clerk overheard my daughter talking about a place we were going to go to and came over with some discount coupons. The free breakfast was very well done and the staff there made sure nothing ever ran out. The pool and hot tubs (one for little ones, not too hot) and one for the adults were very clean. There is also a sauna. Great play area( jungle gym) out front of the hotel for children. Our grandson loved it. Close to anything you might need and close to the great outdoors. Beautiful area. Our room was on the first floor level and was a little dark, that would be the only negative about this hotel. There are restaurants on either side of the hotel, right out your front door. We will definately go there again.

Room Tip: Second level rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acojuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I'm very happy to hear that our staff was helpful and went out of their way to assist you during your stay. I hope you had the opportunity to use the 10% discount that we offer to all of our guests at the two restaurants just steps from our door. Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar offers some great American fare, specializing in Fresh Lake Superior Whitefish, and a full service bar. Our Perkins Restaurant & Bakery has all of your favorites, and of course, you can get breakfast any time during operating hours. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff at the Days Inn Marquette always do a good job of making you feel like family when you visit them. They always have a smile for you and friendly banter. I would recommend that everyone should stay there to see what I see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbyooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your very kind comments on TripAdvisor. There is really not a higher compliment that we could recieve than yours. I'm pleased to see that you obviously have returned to us often and I hope that our staff attitude is just icing on the cake, so to speak, as we are continually working to give our guests more. Recently, we completed adding microwaves and refrigerators to all of our rooms. We hope to keep on pleasing you.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This Days Inn has one of the nicest, friendliest staff. Everyone we came in contact with had a smile and spoke as if the guests were really important to them. Thats rare in a hotel. Most will not go out of their way for you but this place was an exception. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there are several places to eat in the same area. Will definately stay here next trip to the U.P.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcpoohnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Days Inn Marquette, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We sincerely believe that our staff is our greatest asset at the Days Inn of Marquette. Our building may be a little older than some others in the area (although we do a lot of updating), but we feel that we can compete with anybody if we all continue to work at making our guests welcome and comfortable. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to the U.P.

Brian Jensen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Marquette

Property: Days Inn Marquette
Address: 2403 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Marquette
#5 Business Hotel in Marquette
#7 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Marquette 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Marquette offers amenities such as a hotel pool, two whirlpools, sauna,our "Fort Days" outdoor children's playground, and a new guest laundry. From standard rooms to family hotel suites, the Days Inn hotel is sure to fit your needs. All of our rooms now feature 32" or 37" LCD TVs with all HD Channels and 6 free Showtime channels. We also now offer "Dog Friendly" accommodations with a doggy welcome packet. A small fee is required. Hudson's Classic Bar & Grill is within steps of the Days Inn hotel and are under the same local ownership. A 10% meal discount is offered to all of our guests. As part of the "Superior Oasis" family of businesses, Days Inn Marquette Michigan is conveniently located to Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital, downtown shopping, Westwood Mall and multiple recreation opportunities including bike trails, Marquette Mountain, cross-country ski trails (with our own ski waxing room), Lake Superior beaches and Presque Isle Park. We offer business services such as meeting and conference rooms. Catering options are available upon request. Our parking area allows for easy in and out of large trucks, RVs and travel trailers. The Days Inn trucker accommodations make life easier after a long day on the road. If you are looking for a Marquette hotel for an extended stay or a quick place to rest, the Days Inn of Marquette is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquette Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing