We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room for the price.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marquette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marquette Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great room for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room was very clean and the linens smelled so clean and fresh. Great place to stay if you're just looking for a clean shower and bed. Short drive to downtown Marquette. Great value, will stay here again. Bathroom had been updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We needed a place to stay for a weekend in Marquette that would also allow us to take our dog. She's very clean and behaved nicely considering the "strange" environment we had her in. We kept her with us all the time, so she wasn't left in the room. The room was spacious and clean....sort of...the floor/carpeting seemed to need cleaning, but maybe it was because it was a room used by other pet owners? There was no foul odor, just wasn't quite as nice as I'd hoped. The rate was excellent, so I guess we gave up a little to have a good rate. It was an "ok" place conveniently located to where we had to be for the weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the motel, so it was nice a quiet. We should have asked for a couple m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed there on the night of July 4. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating. They helped us find the best location to watch fireworks, and we had a great time.
The restaurant next door was perfect for both diner and breakfast next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This cozy place is conveniently located to everything to do in Marquette. It is well worn but spotless, quiet and efficiently family run. We stay there every Labor Day weekend and have never been disappointed. There is a family style restaurant and a bar with great pizza and tap beer within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the property are most convenient for people with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Coming from Minnesota for the 4th of July weekend. Called 2 days before to reserve two rooms for my family - the lady asked for my credit cards, and said we were all set. When we showed up at 10:10PM, the same lady at the frond desk told me that our rooms were given away because we didn't show up early enough, and she didn't have my phone # either. Gosh! She didn't tell me to show up by 10PM to hold our rooms, and she didn't ask for my contact # either. All she cared was my credit card #! It was the first time ever that my reservation was cancelled by the hotel/motel!!! We have been to other places when we arrived at the hotels at mid-night due to a delayed flight or bad weather on the road. Never have we been told that we were too late, never!

To make things even worse, it was the July 4th weekend. We literally sat in our car and dialed all the motels within 20 miles - from Munising, to Ishpeming, to Gwinn, to Chatham, etc. No Sir, we are fully booked tonight - was the only answer. We were in total despair. Marquette Motor Lodge is very disorganized, the management is unprofessional, and all they want is to make money!

BTW, we had to ask one of our friends living in Detroit, MI for help, and fortunately he was able to find a cabin house in Skandia, MI. So we just got by that night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had to unexpectedly stay in a hotel in the Marquette area, and this was the only one we could afford that had openings that night. I was a bit nervous, but it worked out great. The staff was friendly, the room was spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. We checked in at about 10pm and checked out at 11am, so we did not spend a whole lot of time there. But we were able to get good sleep - it was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Not to mention VERY affordable!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmwum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

We made a trip up to the UP for a weekend. The top things that stand out about this motel: (1) The staff - super friendly, very accomodating. Made sure we had a pleasant stay and we were taken care of. (2) the price - very affordable. It was the running of the UP200 that weekend and they could have taken advantage of the demand for rooms but did not. (3) The location was just a short drive to downtown Marquette. The rooms were pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. I don't want to lead people astray that is a 4 or 5 star hotel. but if you are looking for an affordable, clean, safe, and friendly place to stay on your trip to the UP I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
4.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cedar Motor Inn
Cedar Motor Inn
#7 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquette Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquette Motor Lodge

Property: Marquette Motor Lodge
Address: 5057 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9001
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing