We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a family place and no view of the lake”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a family place and no view of the lake”
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Not a place I would bring my family again. The staff was not friendly at all, I also felt like we were a burden to them when we had to wait for our room.
I hear good things about the hotel but the place is nice just not friendly.
When we checked out early the staff never asked why and didnt seem to listen when we told them why we wanted to leave.
We ended up in Munising at the Hoilday Inn on the water and had a great Time....so I guess it worked out.

  • Liked — it a nice room
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tony01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    105
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
178
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Marquette is a beautiful college town on Lake Superior. The Landmark Inn is a jewel: beautiful restoration, good food, and a hospitable staff. We were there on a cool July day, and a staff member even volunteered to take a chair out to the porch so I could read and enjoy the weather while my husband was in the business center upstairs.

We had a late dinner in the bar; the food was warm and comforting, and the waitress was helpful in our quest to rent a kayak the next day.

The price for our harbor view room was a bit steep, but I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Beautiful building, nice staff
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank groovydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

Landmark is without question the place to stay in Marquette if you wish a central location, ability to walk to restaurants, a way to survive nicely a snow storm, rain storm, or a day of sleet and a clean antique filled room in a very nicely restored hotel. It is not cheap, but there is reasonable value. However, eating at the hotel is another experience. Capers, the trying to be sophisticated restaurant on the ground floor has a wonderful chef, the food was well prepared and inventive, but the service is unbelievably inept. We were one of three couples in the restaurant one rainy night, but four servers could not find the time to smile, fill water glasses, clear the table, or show the basic etiquette one expects from fine dining. Instead, they had to be prompted and prodded, and turned a beautiful meal into a hilarious attempt at impersonating a server. For instance, we were asked if we would like desert. My wife said yes. The server brought one menu. We asked for another. The server returned with it. All the while the dinner plates were only partially removed by another server. The water glasses were empty. Upon leaving, the greeting was the same as the welcome, cold stares. The service works very hard to kill a good meal. Breakfast was a similar experience. After that, we ate at great places just down the street. So our advice, pass on the restaurant, do go to the top floor bar, where service, beverage, and view is great. Do not be offended by the cold distant fromt desk clerks....it may just be the winter lack of light.

  • Liked — Well appointed room filled with antiques
  • Disliked — Queen sized bed instead of king size
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay up high-sixth floor but away from the bar
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

This is a great hotel! I just absolutely love it when I find hotels that really exceed our expectations. I say that because, in all honestly, I wasn't expecting to find such a gem in the upper peninsula of Michigan. It just seems like an out of the way location for a hotel of this caliber. Marquette is so lucky to have the Landmark. The history of the hotel is interesting, with a peak and a long period of decline, with many groups attempting to bring it back. The group that owns it now has been successful! Our room was very comfortable. Nice bed, spacious, good tv with lots of channels, great bath of considerable size. Staff were so helpful and gracious! We had breakfast every morning and it was wonderful, good value. We had dinner one evening and it was good...certainly not best food we've ever eaten, but very good. We did not find parking to be too much of a challenge, yet I could understand how it might be (however, there were two weddings at hotel while we were there, so hotel was very busy). There is nice bar on top floor of hotel, with good views of Lake Superior. Our room looked out over city and library. Not one complaint! I would return to this property in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Historic hotel, restored with lots of care. Great service. Very comfortable home away from home
  • Disliked — Rooms could use a bit more light, especially in evenings (this is common complaint of mine!)
  • Tips/Secrets — You'll enjoy your stay!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, MI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Beautifully restored Historical "Landmark" in downtown Marquette. It certainly is the best in the area, but there aren't any other luxury hotels, and it certainly has its flaws.

Stayed on the busiest weekend of the year--NMU's graduation. To begin with parking was atrocious. Two of my fellow guests had to park on the street significantly away from the property. It's to be expected on a busy weekend, but it seems that hotel guests got the shaft while restaurant diners were able to get the good spots.

Check-in was easy with a minor glitch. Front desk worker did call to check in slightly after I arrived in the room which was a nice touch.

Stayed in the M. Tavernini Suite (a jacuzzi suite). Large room with a king size bed and a sofa and two chairs. The beds and sofas were hard and somewhat difficult to sleep through the night on. Furniture is showing signs of age. The all-white upholstered chairs were showing dirt spots and there were multiple chips on the armoire and TV stand. Bathroom was large with a toilet, shower, double sink and of couse, a jacuzzi with a window.

View was amazing, however, and looked out on the Lower Harbor and the South Marquette ore docks. Clearly the selling point of the room as Lake Superior is beautiful at any time of year.

Check out was as easy as check-in.

Room price was a bit high for what you received, but it is a beautiful hotel and very unique.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2006

The Landmark was a pleasant suprise! Its an old hotel with a beautiful old-fashioned lobby, featuring a pianist (at least on the Saturday night I stayed there). The rooms are up-to-date and cozy. The restaurant is first-rate. The hotel is located in nice neighborhood, within easy walking distance of the lakeshore. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WEWITKOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2005

I just got back from another stay at the Landmark Inn in Marquette. The hotel is positively sublime. We stayed in a suite and had plenty of room, as well as two bathrooms, to feel totally comfortable. The Landmark is within walking distance to everything - shopping, restaurants, bars, banks, Lake Superior, churches. It's even right across the street from the library! The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The service staff is lovely and responsive. The only thing that proved a bit painful was a miscommunication around room service -- when the pub is slow they might close early. If no one tells the rest of the staff -- you could plan on room service based on inaccurate info and you'll end up going hungry. But everything else is about as close to perfect as one could expect. This hotel is the ONLY place to stay in Marquette!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mopsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
40 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing