We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully restored hotel”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The Landmark Inn is still going strong. Even with the consistently poor customer service, I am attracted to this hotel when staying in Marquette. Whether you have a city view or lake view room you can't go wrong. The hotel has not been remodeled since reopening, and it is starting to show a little, but in general it is still excellent. The "English style" pub on the first floor is your best bet for lively food and spirits - equally popular with guests and locals. The top floor bar has the best views in Marquette. I've never been a fan of Capers, you can do far better in downtown Marquette. Looking for a calorie splurge? Have dessert - a piece Joes Cakes, mmmm. Or bring one home - you'll be attracted by the cake case in the lobby.

Only real gripe, on nights that have an event in the banquet room - parking can be a pain.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

We have completely enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Landmark Inn. We were in town for a wedding (reception at the Landmark Inn). We walked to many of the places we wanted to visit, including Lake Superior. Marquette's downtown area is fantastic, the people are friendly and everything you could want is at your fingertips. The Landmark's Northland Pub has great food, Joe's Cakes are incredible & breakfast at Caper's hit the spot on more than one occasion. The staff is so helpful and kind. We look forward to more trips to my hometown and staying overnight at the Landmark Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheriboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

very nice if you like the old atomosphere . I would say probably the best choice in Marquette as they do not have such as Hilton, Sheraton etc... The bathroom was very clean even the building is old. Its wall and ceilings are relatively thin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yukks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

i will just get rid of the one negative first; and that's they wanted to charge $15 for a rollout bed for a child, bogus

otherwise this was a great old school hotel with lots of character, and our rooms were clean and colorful.

also they say the rest. is really good but we didn't eat here.

they location is what you want, right downtown within walking dist. of entire area, perfect for small children, bring your bikes

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RastaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the Landmark the night before our wedding. We had our reception in their Harbor Ballroom. We, along with some family members stayed there and everyone's room had varying decor and all were clean and comfortable. I thought that the room rate's were a little high, but the service from the front desk, the wait staff and the catering managers was phenomenal! It's a beautiful place to stay and you definitely get the feeling of the history of Marquette when staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

There is not a lot available up in these parts, and you need to adjust your level of expectation of the service industry up here if you are visiting from a big city. In any case, this is a nicely refurbished landmark hotel that uses a bit of a patchwork approach to decor, and has dated, not necessarily user-friendly bathrooms. The property is reasonably clean. Beds are firm and linens are very basic. This probably qualifies as a five star for the UP, but elsewhere, the rating would be more 3.5 star. The restaurant downstairs is worth trying for it's pub grub.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Ideal for anyone visiting Marquette for the first time or the 50th time. Convenient to the historic and unique sights and sounds of Marquette including NMU and great dining options. Friendly staff willing to help out. I was originally placed in room 301--don't do it! 301 is located at the end of the hall where a noisy Coca-cola vending machine greets you upon entering your room. I didn't realize how high the noise level was until I hit the sheets. I was promptly moved to a new room down the hall and told by staff that there are frequent complaints about this room's noise level. Nothing beats this hotel's location and when chatting with locals they'll tell you that The Landmark is one of the best lodging options in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
514 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $128 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing