We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful place”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
FINGER LAKES
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Wonderful place”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

WE stayed here just one night and would have liked to stay another. The city is wonderful and we just loved our room . We stayed in the amelia earhart room, which was a corner room with a great veiw of the kake. We enjoyed the top floor lounge a lot and would stay nthere again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINKIE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    101
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
168
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at the Landmark in for two nights and were very pleased with the refurbished condition of this historic hotel, the warmness of the staff and the comfortable, quiet and clean rooms. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensmith122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I have stayed at the Landmark Inn on two occasions in the past year and would highly recommend this hotel. My first stay was a mother and daughter weekend get-away and we stay in the fabulous penthouse suite. WOW! The second stay was with my family of five and we stayed in a king suite which was spacious with two bathrooms plus it was beautifully decorated. On both occasions with took advantage of the hotels delicious restaurants and convenient downtown location. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, il
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to the beautiful UP of Michigan.
Found it to be well located, comfortable, clean and quiet. Our room was quite large as was the bathroom.Lots of channels on the television. The lounge on the top floor provides a nice view and the staff there was friendly. Although not visible during our visit, we were told that the Northern Lights can be seen from that room on occasion
There were some disappointments. Parking was a problem. There was no room in the lot on the afternoon we arrived as there was a wedding taking place. Next, when we checked in, we asked the location of the local Lake Superior Playhouse and no one at the front desk had any idea of the location or existence of it. We later found out on our own that we could have pitched a medium sized rock from the hotel parking lot and hit the theater. Guess the staff could use some training….
While the bathroom was large it was very inconvenient. No place to put things such as toiletries. Large open spaces but no counter space – very strange.
Also, the shower was one of those connected to a hose and was mounted barely above waist level so washing hair could be a challenge ( unless you are about three feet tall.)
The furniture in the room was in good repair but most did not match. All the way from knotty pine to mahogany
The only reason I mention some of these minor items is the number of “five” ratings I’ve seen on this hotel. It just isn’t a “Great” hotel. It is a nice hotel in a good location at which we might stay again if in the area. Or we might try the Holiday Inn in Musining?
By the way, We really enjoyed our meal at Elizabeth’s Chop House, just down the street from the hotel. Worth a try if staying at the Landmark.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandCTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We only stayed here a night, but it was an excellent stay. The staff were very efficient and the parking is free (massive car park right next to the hotel). We had a suite over looking the lake and the furniture in our bedroom was all made of silver birch trees - very different and really nice. We had a 4 poster bed. The bathroom was massive with a jacuzzi bath and separate large shower and two baisins. The hotel is located at the top of a hill overlooking most of the City. There isn't much to do in Marquette so not worth a long stay, but I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were to visit.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JOD1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed one night at the Landmark Hotel in Marquette and wished we had planned for a longer stay. The hotel has been beautifully remodeled and we had a wonderful room overlooking the city. The room and bathroom were large and there was even a fireplace. I was afraid it might be noisy at night from the street traffic but this was not a problem. There is a very elegant feel to this hotel and it was very comfortable. There was a senior discount available but this was not advertised.

The hotel is located downtown and we found several great restaurants and the main shopping area within easy walking distance. We ate at the Vierling Restaurant and the New York Deli and recommend both. There were also several good book stores.

We drove to Presque Island, north of the downtown and spent a pleasant afternoon walking and watching the ships, birds, waves, etc. We also enjoyed walking around the harbour area near downtown, a very lovely space with an ice cream store and Mackinaw Island Fudge ice cream.

  • Liked — Elegance of the hotel
  • Disliked — Found nothing wrong
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is at least my 3 or 4th stay at this property. This is probably the best hotel in Marquette, with nice views of the lake or the old downtown and library. Rooms have average appointments. Nice pub and restaurant along with fair prices. Staff is efficient and friendly. Free wi-fi is a plus !

  • Liked — Location !
  • Disliked — Fitness Center
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapwhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing