We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Older Hotel”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Mid-Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Older Hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I like staying at older non-chain hotels when possible. This place fit the bill nicely. The room was sizable and bright. No issue with cleanliness. No issue with service. I'd stay here again for sure. Parking can be a challenge depending upon what is going on at the hotel. During our stay there was a wedding and it really took over much of the place. One of the best features of the hotel is a bar on the top floor. It offers a nice view of the area and is a great place to unwind. The front desk was very helpful offering directions. They also arranged for our bikes to be safely stored downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtwoheartedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
58
168
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very well maintained old hotel in downtown Marquette on the shores of Lake Superior. Great place close to everything. Parking is handy and free. There is a bar in the lobby and at the top of the hotel. Both have food. There is a nice restaurant in the lobby, Capers. Lobby is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a grand old hotel. Each room is different from the others. But something is lacking. The furniture is old and needs updating. Our room had lots of closet space but NO drawer space. Food at the restaurant and pub is excellent, for Marquette. Staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

There's no other hotel in the UP quite like the Landmark. It's a beautifully restored property with a great location in Marquette. All the shops and restaurants of Washington and Front Streets are within easy walking distance, NMU is a short (3 minutes) car ride, and the lower harbor is a few minutes walk. Rooms aren't massive, but they have lots of historic charm and are very well kept. There is an upscale restaurant (Capers) and a very good pub (Northland) in the hotel along with a lounge on the top floor that has an amazing view of the lake. It's a very nice hotel and by far the nicest in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdubya2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway,Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We've stayed more than a few times at the Landmark and despite the very high room prices and "ritzy atmosphere" of the place, we've never been wholly satisfied and have always left feeling that we had not gotten our money's worth. The staff can be Extremely rude and insulting on occasion and the rooms are nothing to rave about for comfort and luxury. We would recommend avoiding the Dining room for eating, as the food is sporadic at best. For example, when my wife ordered fish, the waiter asked her how she would like it cooked. Trying to be amenable, she told him to leave it up to however way the chef thought it should be done. To this day, we don't know if it was supposed to be a joke or a deliberate insult, but the fish came out totally raw and uncooked-Sushi. Red faced, my wife sent it back and asked them to Cook it. And the prices for this type of dining are very high.
On the Other hand, however, if you are in the mood for a good and very tasty Lunch-then the absolute must choice is to try the bar menu in the tavern part of the Landmark! The lunch menu is large and well populated with many tempting choices, but the Hamburger and Chicken selections are not to be missed. Delicious, served by cheerful and efficient bar staff and fine prices to boot. So, our advise is to save your money-stay elsewhere(there are Many great places to stay in Marquette), but if you're hungry and in the mood for a tasty Lunch, then stop by the Landmark's pub and have a Great one! You'll be glad you did! We always do!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WilliamGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gould City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent our 18th anniversary, which fell on the same day as the Super Bowl, at the Landmark Inn. Treated like their favorite clients upon check-in. The room was beautiful and cozy with a great view of Lake Superior. And Rachel, the bartender at the sixth floor NorthStar Lounge, took excellent care of us as we enjoyed the football game and dinner! We will visit there again - splendid experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed over night to watch the ball drop two blocks away! We returned to a lobby full of party goers! They had music, small side bar and dancing! Fun time! Beautiful decor, very friendly staff and great food! We sat at the bar upstairs and watched someone fireworks! We'd stay there again! They even park your car like the big city places!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaundersKezele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
768 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing