We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After sitting abandoned for years it is good to see the Landmark reopened, joining in the resurgence of Marquette. Excellent location, okay, maybe a few blocks down the hill would have eased the walk.

The bill for three nights, two breakfasts and one lunch was $601. I thought a good value. The lobby is very good and the rooms are fine. The restoration is not elegant, plastic tiled showered stalls, antiquish but mismatched furniture, but these seemed to be of very minor distractions. Hotel staff very friendly and casual, wait staff in main dining room excellent, okay in Pub. Food was good in the main dining room, after spending years in the U.P. I have not found excellent food very often so thought the food was quite good for the area. Pub food was pub food, not good but at least satisfactory.

There is a good feel to this hotel, you enjoy entering it and feel at home. The value was good. I would stay here again, and will. Marquette has worked hard, and successfully, to establish itself, and this hotel is a fine example of a refurbished city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pushhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 356 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love beautiful, old timeless hotels and this is one of them. Absolutely gorgeous, antique furniture in our room and simply beautiful; one of the most lovely rooms I have ever stayed in. Comfortable, nice sheets, pillows, etc.. Very spacious, comfortable chairs, huge bathroom, no complaints on this one!

Room Tip: A view of lake superior would be a plus of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a good choice for our stay in Marquette. We try to stay at historic hotels whenever possible. The Landmark Inn is nicely restored. Lovely lobby. Our room (lilac) was very comfortable and had a nice view of the lake and down town. Great location. We enjoyed a walk to the beautiful harbor park area and maritime museum. Pretty reasonable price also.

Room Tip: Stay on upper level facing the lake for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Marquette is centrally located in the Upper Peninsula, good jump off point. This hotel is in the center of Marquette. It has been totally renovated and is the luxurious hotel it was in the past. Elegant lobby and dining room, rooms were very comfortable and larger than I expected for a vintage hotel. Ample parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrauG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used the Penthouse Suite for a bachelorette party and it was great. The staff was very helpful and everything was clean. We had breakfast down in the restaurant and the food was delicious and ok priced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessy2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not only is Marquette a beautiful area to explore but the Landmark Inn is the frosting on the cake overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Our party had 4 rooms and it was fun to see the different décor/theme in each room. All the staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating in making sure we enjoyed our stay. The Inn is well maintained and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Landmark Inn and hope to return, soon. We chose the Landmark primarily so that we could walk to the local microbreweries, and found the room rate in line with other restored small city hotels. Our room was lovely, as is the lobby, and the main dining room and bar on the 6th floor.

Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom toiletries weren't what I expected for this room rate, though. One bar of soap (choose between by sink or by bathtub), and the "bath gel" and "shampoo" from the dispensers seemed to be the same product. Looks like they are trying to save a few bucks, rather than providing a consistently high-quality experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Marquette, MI
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $128 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing