We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

After sitting abandoned for years it is good to see the Landmark reopened, joining in the resurgence of Marquette. Excellent location, okay, maybe a few blocks down the hill would have eased the walk.

The bill for three nights, two breakfasts and one lunch was $601. I thought a good value. The lobby is very good and the rooms are fine. The restoration is not elegant, plastic tiled showered stalls, antiquish but mismatched furniture, but these seemed to be of very minor distractions. Hotel staff very friendly and casual, wait staff in main dining room excellent, okay in Pub. Food was good in the main dining room, after spending years in the U.P. I have not found excellent food very often so thought the food was quite good for the area. Pub food was pub food, not good but at least satisfactory.

There is a good feel to this hotel, you enjoy entering it and feel at home. The value was good. I would stay here again, and will. Marquette has worked hard, and successfully, to establish itself, and this hotel is a fine example of a refurbished city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pushhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    99
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
160
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
232 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love beautiful, old timeless hotels and this is one of them. Absolutely gorgeous, antique furniture in our room and simply beautiful; one of the most lovely rooms I have ever stayed in. Comfortable, nice sheets, pillows, etc.. Very spacious, comfortable chairs, huge bathroom, no complaints on this one!

Room Tip: A view of lake superior would be a plus of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon, Kansas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a good choice for our stay in Marquette. We try to stay at historic hotels whenever possible. The Landmark Inn is nicely restored. Lovely lobby. Our room (lilac) was very comfortable and had a nice view of the lake and down town. Great location. We enjoyed a walk to the beautiful harbor park area and maritime museum. Pretty reasonable price also.

Room Tip: Stay on upper level facing the lake for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Marquette is centrally located in the Upper Peninsula, good jump off point. This hotel is in the center of Marquette. It has been totally renovated and is the luxurious hotel it was in the past. Elegant lobby and dining room, rooms were very comfortable and larger than I expected for a vintage hotel. Ample parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrauG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used the Penthouse Suite for a bachelorette party and it was great. The staff was very helpful and everything was clean. We had breakfast down in the restaurant and the food was delicious and ok priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessy2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Falls, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not only is Marquette a beautiful area to explore but the Landmark Inn is the frosting on the cake overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Our party had 4 rooms and it was fun to see the different décor/theme in each room. All the staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating in making sure we enjoyed our stay. The Inn is well maintained and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Landmark Inn and hope to return, soon. We chose the Landmark primarily so that we could walk to the local microbreweries, and found the room rate in line with other restored small city hotels. Our room was lovely, as is the lobby, and the main dining room and bar on the 6th floor.

Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom toiletries weren't what I expected for this room rate, though. One bar of soap (choose between by sink or by bathtub), and the "bath gel" and "shampoo" from the dispensers seemed to be the same product. Looks like they are trying to save a few bucks, rather than providing a consistently high-quality experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 18 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 18 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing