We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Marquette!”
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place in Marquette!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Upon entering this motel, the richness of the lobby surrounds you. Elegantly furnished and attentive staff and a very timely check in are wonderful after a long car ride. The elegance doesn't stop there. Each room is very well decorated, and we felt very pampered in the environment. LOVE the sixth floor pub with the fabulous Lake Superior view and the food there was wonderful. Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: If possible get an upper floor lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    105
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
178
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

As you will probably be aware, this is a restored hotel. As such, it has a certain personality that one does not often find in modern cookie cutter chain hotels. While I appreciate this, I also didn't feel like the level of comfort or amenities were up to the standard I expect in this price range.

The desk in my room was an older foldout kind of thing with no power outlet handy. The body wash and shampoo on offer were in institutional dispensers mounted on wall with institutional labels on each...and were clearly the exact same substance.

Many times when I pay this price for a hotel I receive a complimentary newspaper, here they are being sold at the front desk, and had run out by the time I was looking for one before 10AM.

I do not really expect a free breakfast, but if you are going to have table service you had better make sure it is relatively quick and cheerful. Neither was the case during my visit, but the food was good at least.

On the plus side, I think this is probably the ideal location to enjoy the VERY attractive downtown area. This is reason enough for me to consider staying here again if I am fortunate enough to make another summertime trip to Marquette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClayC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and two children stayed here in July and enjoyed our time here very much. As other reviews have said, the location is perfect and the hotel is beautiful. We stayed in a two-room corner suite, which was very spacious and came with a huge sitting area (nice furnishings), two bathrooms, table with four chairs, fireplace, small extra sink and a mini-fridge. The views were spectacular. The extra cost for the suite was well worth it (family of four), especially compared to the prices of other hotels in Marquette. We did not eat in one of the restaurants, but walked down to The Vierling for Lake Superior Whitefish and great beer. However, we did order room service for breakfast and it was excellent.

Marquette is one of our favorite places to visit – not only does it have the comfortable amenities that others have mentioned (restaurants, shops, university, etc.), but the natural beauty of the lake and nearby world-class hiking and biking make for a perfect combination. We are already planning our next visit and are looking forward to staying at The Landmark Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taeshatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro-Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My fiancé and I were in Marquette for a wedding and stayed at the Landmark in late July and early August. We really enjoyed our stay at this old hotel. We were in Marquette for a total of six days, and stayed in the penthouse with her parents for a few of the nights. The penthouse was very big with a great view of Marquette Bay on Lake Superior, and there was plenty of room for all of us. The bridal party even ended up using the penthouse to get ready, and there was tons of room for the nine women to get their hair done, etc.

The regular rooms at the Landmark were good, too. Very clean and the cleaning staff was very polite. Some of the rooms were named after prominent people that had stayed in those rooms, and we thought that was interesting.

All three restaurants/bars in the hotel were good. We only ate breakfast at Capers, and the service and food was good. It seemed a bit pricey for breakfast, but hotel restaurants seem to be that way for breakfast pretty sometimes.There was a lounge type restaurant on the top floor called North Star Lounge at the opposite end from the penthouse. That sat around 25-30 people, and always seemed to be busy. Food was good and the bartender was very good. There was also a regular bar/restaurant off the lobby called Northland Pub. It seemed to have the same food selection as the North Star Lounge, but a lot more room (and not as good a view, obviously). The bartender in there was great. I can't remember his name, but he was from Italy and a very good bartender. He was very informative about Marquette and an overall excellent bartender.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people visiting Marquette.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsujohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

So nice to stay in a non-corporate, unique, historic hotel. The cute pictures of the landmark helped tip the balance when we were deciding whether or not to drive up to Marquette on our road trip around Lake Michigan. We were not disappointed. The lobby feels like a time warp to the turn of the century. The halls are luxurious with pretty wall lamps and gorgeous wallpaper. our room is clean, bright and quaintly decorated with bright yellow country quilts and floral wallpaper. Staff was very friendly at checkin. And Marquette is really nice... On the lake, with cute shops and restaurants. Glad we came.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have often dined at the Landmark living less the 100 miles away and visiting Marquette several times a month. This time we decided to stay there and were very pleased. The dining for one is very good in all three places, the third being the top floor lounge overlooking the city and Lake Superior. The rooms and beds are very comfortable, while not the largest room I have ever stayed in they are more then adequate. The best part is access to downtown and the lakefront. You can take an early morning run or walk on the bike path which goes about as far as you want, Marquette has a nice bike path throughout the city. A few short blocks away is the Black Rock brewery, great beer! Dining is Marquette is very good but one doesn't need to leave the hotel for a great dinner, the Landmark is way above average. Overall my only complaint is not enough time to stay longer, a beautiful property with a great location.

Room Tip: Any of the four side would be a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muldoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Landmark is not only historic but it's also extremely well run. Great location, right across from the city's gem "The Peter White Public Library". Prices are reasonable for the high quality of this hotel. I would always recommend that you start your booking with the Landmark Inn and go elsewhere only if the Landmark is full.

Room Tip: Ask about the "Theme Rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
799 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Property: Landmark Inn
Address: 230 N Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4221
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landmark Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing