We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Clean. VERY Affordable.”
Review of Imperial Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marquette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Imperial Motel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I were just here. Spent over a week. We were very pleased with the friendly and home like atmosphere and very clean and confortable. And very accommodating to us as we had a trailer that needed a safe place to be parked, safe clean parking for motorcycles (we had 2). VERY MOTORCYCLE Friendly !!
And for 2 of the nights we had extra family with us, so we needed a larger room....the transition from room to room was so easy, Denise and the staff were so helpful.
Very close to restaurants, gas stations, shopping....and beautiful Marquette downtown and the shores of Lake Superior. And a safe "nieghborhood".
The owners take pride in their business and it shows. To all the staff, Thank You for making our stay enjoyable. We will stay here everytime we visit Marquette.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSBidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

Have been staying at the Imperial for 20 years. Only place we ever stay. The owners are always friendly and make us feel like family when we are there. The rooms are always clean, and the side area is the quietest. Pool is small, but our kids loved it when they were young. Is a much older Mom and Pop motel, but you should not be disappointed in your accomadations and the price can't be beat. Give them a try and keep them in business.

Room Tip: The side area, away from the highway and pool area are the best bet. Rooms are good size and it se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

called arranged days ahead chose it for indoor pool not told until afte credit card already ran n paid pool is not open no soda machines cold airs blowing in under door seems electric heat not keeping up lamps by bed not working just disappointed feeling stuck lady asked alot of questions we're private people n felt pushed...be prepared to tell her alot about yourselves n life

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101katra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Marquette was the first stop on our cross-country road trip. Decided to check the rates at the Imperial Motel and was pleased that it was very reasonable (especially compared to the other nearby hotels we could see prices for online), and was clean.

My only complaint was that a lot of the other guests got up really early (like 5:30am), I assume to go fishing, and so the car noises did wake me up for a bit. However, it was otherwise a nice quiet hotel.

We would definitely stay here again if we're going through Marquette.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

The Imperial Motel is a clean, safe, quiet, spotless, nice, no--frills motel in a row of more modern, fancier hotel chains. An excellent value for the price. It does not have a hot breakfast, but a Perkins and a Big Boy restaurant are just down the road. It does have an indoor pool. It is privately owned, the owners are very nice, and the place is incredibly clean, and a bit spartan. The decor is not updated, but it is not overly garish, either. There are convenient restaurants and shopping nearby for drivers. The cost is inexpensive. If you cannot live without up-to-the-minute style and extra shampoos, you may want to stay at a Holiday Inn or something and pay for that. However, if you want a safe, clean, comfortable night's rest, this is a reliably pleasant place to stay. They get much return business. It's a great place for parents of college kids who are attending Northern Michigan University. It is not a party hotel, from what I've seen. Plain, but relaxing, in safe area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartGrandmaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I went to this hotel at the last minute when the place I was staying was overrun by busses filled with hockey players and I'm glad I did. The Imperial is a little motel on the side of the road but it's full of character and nice people. It's locally owned and operated and the rooms are good sized, well apportioned -- mine had new furniture as well as a new and stylish shower/tub enclosure and comfy. There is a lot of parking, a decent pool and coffee in the mornings.

The place seems to cater to people passing through on longer trips more than tourists and so seemed more focused on being simple, inexpensive and comfortable rather than whizbang. My main complaint was no easy access to internet but there's local phones and my cell phone works decently here. Denise the proprietress was incredibly nice and friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#10 of 19 in Marquette
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Motel

Address: 2493 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing