We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and clean”
Review of Cedar Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

the room was very clean, shower worked well, and the beds were comfortable. At this price point it was great. Only two minor complaints. The first is that there are not enough grounded electrical outlets. We had to alternate laptops. Second, the wi-fi was dead slow.

If you have multiple electronic devices bring a power strip, but this is true of all older hotels.

We really like it though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here in July during the 100 degree heat wave. The indoor pool was like swimming in the artic. My 2 year old would not stay in the pool and he loves swimming. The hot tub was much better and most people gravitated to this after a quick dip in the pool. The electricity in the rooms is old and you will need to get an adapter from the front desk to use anything with 3 prongs. The shower is tricky to turn on, especially if you have taken off your glasses. Not the usual shower, my husband turned it on for me. The front desk were friendly and helpful with dining suggestions.and they have ample parking for boat trailers and such. No continental breakfast is offered so having to leave the hotel for breakfast the next morning not ideal for a long trip. The rooms were adequate but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

This response is to correct errors and omissions in the guest’s recent review. We DO serve a continental breakfast in our front lobby, daily, from 7 am – 9 am. It includes fresh fruit, assorted Danish and a variety of tasty muffins. We also have delicious biscotti, a variety of cereal bars for guests on the go, regular or decaf coffee and a wide selection of teas to choose from.

Secondly, our pool is maintained year-around at 80 degrees and the spa at 102-103 degrees. If the guest had contacted the front desk, we could have easily shown her our specialized digital thermometers that track the two water temperatures 24 hours a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Cedar Motor Inn was a great experience from the moment I emailed with questions to the moment we (quickly and easily) checked out. It's a clean hotel with a fantastic pool and hot tub and even a steam sauna. We had a large, pool side room that came at a great price. I would stay here again and highly recommend this over the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennN884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a small family run hotel. The room was very clean. The pool, sauna& spa areas were clean and everything was in working order. Close to downtown marquette and other attractions. Towels are kind of small and thin but they were very willing to provide extras. Also shampoo was not the best & they do not provide lotion. Overall good place to stay if you aren't looking for luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pulled into Marquette, MI. Like to go with the Mom and Pop motels before the big name. Walked in and asked for any available cheapest room for two. The cheapest was a full bed for $49.00. When was the last time you saw that? We took the king for $82.00. Room #111 was Fantastic. Completely renovated. Big clean room with new carpeting. Big new bathroom. Great nights sleep. Indoor Pool. Very basic continental style breakfast. Went to Jeffery's Restaurant (see review)on the way out of town. Would stay at the Cedar Motor Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trav_LN_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Even though some furnishings are dated, the rooms and bath were spotless, and the beds comfy. The owners obviously take pride in their property and bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. Yes, they provide a modest breakfast, but with the money you save by staying there, you could go to Sweetwater for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paleoprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Cedar Inn 3 times...liked the location and the pool area so we returned ..however the "breakfast " is a few cold muffins,assorted fruit and coffee in tiny cups. We had to get several cups and carry back to our room just to make a full cup...then if you dont get to the office area very early its picked over and they do not bring anymore out if its after 830 or so.......now thats annoying. Internet acess was terrible all three times. While we enjoyed the rooms,they were comfortable and the pool was nice.......i think when we come back up we will try the Hampton. This place is clean and thats important but they need a revamp on the service and food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Marquette, MI
2.1 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
841 reviews
2.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Motor Inn

Address: 2523 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2258
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marquette
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marquette
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#6 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: $70 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasant blend of rustic charm and modern accommodations awaits you at the Cedar Motor Inn. Family-owned over 45 years, our small-scale AAA diamond approved hotel is in Marquette, nestled against the north woods near the shores of Lake Superior. We offer the vacationer, the traveler or a business person 43 rooms to choose from, including a housekeeping cottage suite that can accommodate 2-4 people. Kids and adults will love our heated indoor pool, spa and steam sauna and a wonderful sun patio to catch that summer tan. Poolside rooms are available and all of our rooms have cable TV & HBO, hair dryers, air conditioning, coffee and wireless internet. Stroll down in your slippers through our cedar hallways each morning to enjoy a simple continental breakfast in our front lobby. During the winter months, we have a ski waxing room set up for our guests and plug-ins for your vehicle on those cold U.P. nights. All of our rooms are non-smoking, clean, comfortable and cozy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Motor Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing