We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

Marine City Fish Company
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Marine City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MI
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been here several times in the last 2 years and it is usually good. This time was extremely disappointing.

The Shrimp Scampi and Swordfish were overcooked and rubbery. The scampi had so much garlic, it was not edible. The potato soup was runny with no flavor. The wait staff is just average.

On the plus side, the Scallops and the Salmon appetizer were very good.

At best, it is hit or miss, which is a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLOMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    46
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was here with a large family group, so we had to wait for quite a while to get a table. The restaurant was small and crowded, very full, and service was quite scattered. Several times dishes were delivered to people who had ordered well after us and we felt rather neglected. The best dish was the house fish spread, which was delicious and served in large portions. The fried fish dishes were rather heavy and the sides sounded good but turned out to be not that flavorful- the cheddar cheese mash was one example.Salads also not exciting. All in all it was still pretty good, but I'm not dying to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DB1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Don't let the storefront fool you!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Marine City Fish Company is tucked into an unassuming block of stores across from the St. Clair River. You might miss it unless you see the line of hungry people patiently waiting for their tables.

The food here is delicious; I don't know how much more needs to be said. The fish is fresh and prepared the way you like it (really). My husband and I both had small orders of pickerel, his pan fried, mine deep fried. Don't be misled by the term "deep fried," as my fish had a light Panko bread crumb breading that was not greasy at all.

If you like smoked fish, you will love their in-house smoked salmon (and beef jerky). The board on the wall lists the specials that day. Do you like pasta? Try their lobster ravioli. And they haven't forgotten about meat eaters; on the menu are bourbon BBQ ribs, coconut chicken and blue cheese encrusted beef tenderloin. There is an extensive menu of appetizers, soups, salads, sandwiches, and, oh yes, desserts. I've always been too full to try one, but the peanut butter cup chocolate cheesecake sounds interesting.

Come as you are. It's noisy and crowded at times, and you may have to wait for a table, but I guarantee it's worth it. In the summer there's outdoor seating, too. When you're done eating, walk across the street and watch for freighters sailing on the river, a popular local activity!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susanw452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marine City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An incredible find for a small town. Food is excellent. Ambience is unique. The salmon spread and lobster ravioli are must try. After a dozen visits we have never been disappointed. Service was a bit of an issue a while back but they seem to have ironed it out. If you are looking for the best meal in town you will find it here. That's why it's #1.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, great view”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good food in a lovely beach town , historic buildings, ferry crossing to Canada, lots of charm. A variety of smoked fish done in house which you can also buy to take home. Friendly staff reasoably priced priced

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine City Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Marine City Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing