We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent wedding night there”
Review of Root Cellar Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marenisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Root Cellar Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Marenisco B&B and Inns
Caspian, Michigan
1 review
“Spent wedding night there”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding night there last year. We stayed in a suite. Not knowing what to expect for a place being so far out in the middle of nowhere, it was a nice surprise to find such a clean and enormous room. And very impressive was the food from the restraint. I'm from the south and used to southern cooking. It has been a challenge to find a restaurant in the north that has great food, but this one did! My in-laws who had traveled from the Chicago area stayed in a regular room. They enjoyed their stay and food as well. Great rates too! We're planning our 1st year anniversary return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrakidsabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The good. Clean, spacious room with large coffee pot and coffee for morning. Our deluxe room had an extra bedroom, microwave, fridge and private outdoor seating With tables and chairs, wi-fi. We were surrounded by greenery and a short walk to Lake Gogebic shoreline. Owners were friendly and helpful with suggestions on places to go see. Restaurant on premises serves excellent food from 3p -9p. Separate review. Not so good: stayed two nights on the weekend.. Nobody came to make up the room (had to make our own bed when we got back at 11pm), no exchange of dirty towels. Really do expect this at a motel as bare minimum. We had been required to pay both nights in advance because checkout is at 10a and there would not be anyone there in the morning To check out with. Get out by 10 or get charged another day, leave your keys inside. This lodge is over 10 miles from a store or restaurant and their restaurant is not open until 3p. So..if you are hungry before 3p plan on a drive of at least 10 miles to bergland or marenisco or bring your own food to microwave. There is a vending machine for soda on the premises. There is no beach..the shore has a ramp for a boat launch. Wi-fi worked the first day, not at all the second. As said, good vs bad. No housekeeping services turned me off this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stay Away!!!! Rude unsympathetic people!!!! Got stuck in Hurley night before and rushed back next morning to get back for check out time of 10:00...We arrived at 10:15!!! All of our personal belongings had been bagged up and taken out of the rooms, not able to bath or use restrooms or even brush teeth!!! We actually stayed to eat becuase we were unable to stop to try to get back on time ( I can see hour and 15 minutes late but only 15 Mminutes!!!) We even bought their gas and found out later the female owner told one in our our group to never come back!!!!! I have already cancelled my CC charges!! I will make sure all I know to never give a penny to this establishment!!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 252Ousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marenisco hotels

Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Right on trail 13 - we stopped in for a few drinks during a very busy weekend. Service was good and they had a good number of staff on which really helped.

Pricing was in line with the other resorts on the lake and we really liked the location - on several occasions we jumped across the lake from The Root Cellar to Fishtales and over to trail 1. The Root Cellar has lots of space for dining and while we were there they had a good salad bar which is something I didn't see at any other resort.

Lots of big TVs and a good sized bar - great Northwoods feel!

They also sell Ski Doo and other brand oil. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This past October we spent our third long weekend at the Root Cellar. As usual we had a wonderful room (private suite with whirlpool) and a beautiful view from our patio. Rick and Jane are wonderful hosts. We spent a day at Lake of Clouds and the fall color was breathtaking. The food, drinks and company at the Root Cellar was fantastic. It will be an annual fall color tour for us!

Room Tip: If you go in fall be prepared for snow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On a motorcycle trip, my buddy and I stayed two nights here. $35 a night and the location and scenery were amazing. The riding around Lake Gogebic was phenomenal and I will stay here again someday for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were looking for a quiet getaway and always wanted to fish Lake Gogebic. When we googled the area, The Root Cellar showed up. We were amazed that they recently built a new lodge and were offering rooms for only $25. What a steal! The woman on the phone taking our reservation was very accommodating. Our check in was flawless. We were able to be on the lake all day, enjoy the scenery in the area (many great waterfalls), followed by a great meal in their restaurant. We would highly suggest.

Room Tip: Summer rates thru November 2011 starting at only $25. Just was on their website and saw winter rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 474100474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Root Cellar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Root Cellar Resort

Property: Root Cellar Resort
Address: N11071 E Shore Rd, Marenisco, MI 49947-9737
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marenisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marenisco
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing