We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regulars”
Review of Clydes Drive In

Clydes Drive In
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Manistique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American
Description: Clyde's is a drive-in located in Manistique, MI on Chippewa Ave. Clyde's was built in Sault Ste Marie in 1949 by Mr. Clyde VanDusen. In the early 90's Clyde's in Manistique has been owned & operated by Cliff & Gail Blose Bring Back the great old fashion taste of quality at Clyde's Drive In, home of the FAMOUS Big C Burger. Clyde's has been serving great burgers, fries and more for over 50 years! You can dine in or stay in your car and a carhop will come and take your order! Phone orders WELCOME! The Manistique Clyde's Drive in is open ALL YEAR LONG! We now accept CREDIT CARDS! Our burgers were voted the "2011 Best Burgers In the U.P", by a Fox 11 News Poll! Thanks to all who VOTED!
Restaurant details
Description: Clyde's is a drive-in located in Manistique, MI on Chippewa Ave. Clyde's was built in Sault Ste Marie in 1949 by Mr. Clyde VanDusen. In the early 90's Clyde's in Manistique has been owned & operated by Cliff & Gail Blose Bring Back the great old fashion taste of quality at Clyde's Drive In, home of the FAMOUS Big C Burger. Clyde's has been serving great burgers, fries and more for over 50 years! You can dine in or stay in your car and a carhop will come and take your order! Phone orders WELCOME! The Manistique Clyde's Drive in is open ALL YEAR LONG! We now accept CREDIT CARDS! Our burgers were voted the "2011 Best Burgers In the U.P", by a Fox 11 News Poll! Thanks to all who VOTED!
Gulliver, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Regulars”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Whitefish on a bun and their excellent coffee! We never stray, and give gift certificates often to volunteer or hospital workers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solomon, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very nostagic”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great old school diner where the car hop goes out to the cars parked in the drive. The burger was great but the shakes were disappointing -not much flavor. Especially liked the lunch counter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The burgers are homemade, fresh, greasy, and delicious! It's a cool old fashioned drive-in that I don't think has changed since it opened in the 50's. the burgers were great as were the fries. It took a while to get our food because it was very busy and it's a small joint, but it was worth the wait

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie_524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Damn Good Burger”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stopped and grabbed the last 2 seats at the counter (counter only seating if not setting in your car). Don't expect fancy here. One of the best burgers I've had to date. Burger came to me on a coffee filter(?). Basically no veterinarian items on the menu but the wife (the vegetarian) had them do a grilled cheese and she said it was good. Glad we stopped here and not a major fast food place down the road. Reasonable prices. Very friendly staff. Place was packed and busy but the food came to us quickly. The small "drive-in" kinda gives it a old time feel too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gluehuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop! you wont be dissapointed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

we drove past this tiny little place thinking it wasnt open. After all i think the entire UP rolls up the rug at 5 on Sunday. we went back to see if they were open and are glad we did. Hubby got the Big C and i got a regular cheese burger. They didnt look like much, but were very good. They closed at 9 and we walked in at 8:30. I said we would hurry and the wait staff said, dont worry we will stay open for ya :) Great place.... dont pass it by!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tekkshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clydes Drive In also viewed

Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Clydes Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing