We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic experience as good as I remembered”
Review of Big Boy

Big Boy
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Manistique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nostalgic experience as good as I remembered”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I went to Big Boy with my mom as a child but they no longer have them in my area. I was excited to have a chance to eat at one again. The shakes are still awesome - you get the tin with the rest of your shake standing by for a refill. I had fish fry and it was good. Our waitress was nice, and we heard her deal very kindly and patiently with a somewhat difficult and picky customer next to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djdelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    30
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
1,726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
“Good Big Boy”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You won't find a lot of restaurant alone the road to Green Bay so we stopped at this location since there were several cars in the parking lot. The inside of the restaurant is uniquely decorated with large brad strawberries hanging from the ceiling. Reminded me of a large over decorated country restaurant. After looking at the menu we opted for the breakfast bar which included a good variety of fruits, eggs, bacon and several kinds of soup. The food was good and since we served our selves there really was not need for a waitress other than getting our drinks. Once again the interior was quite unique. Person doing the decorating must be into scrap-booking.Buffet was under $9

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big on Boy...Small on Service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a salad bar...how hard can that be?
We ordered the soup and salad bar for lunch. The actual food wasn't bad...The service was deplorable. The waitress was clumsy and let's face it...all she HAD to do was keep our water topped off, which apparently was too difficult. There was plenty of staff on so it wasn't that she was over burdened, just seemed like she wasn't motivated. Maybe the 75cent tip was a hint to do better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, wi-fi & laptops available”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Big Boy is really not my choice of places but this place did have free wi-fi, homey feel and gave us a to go coffee with our coffee order. I was able to find menu food, a hardy soup as a vegan without an eyeball roll. All employees were very nice and it was like stepping back in time since I hadn't been to one since a kid. It was one of the only places open at 5:15pm on a Saturday, sleepy town for sure :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food. Ok price...”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The waitress did not come by very often however,the food tasted good. I loved the nostalgic feel inside the building.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Boy also viewed

Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Big Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing