We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for cleanliness and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This was a no-frills, older motel on the outskirts of town. The room was very clean but spartan. The bed was comfortable and the towels were soft. The pool was not open due to a cold summer, a disappointment not the fault of the owner! Coffee and donuts constitue the "continental breakfast" offered. Considering the price and that we used the motel for sleeping only, I consider this one of our better experiences. If all you want is a clean, inexpensive, place to sleep, I can recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offandrunning4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed last year and are going the same way again - but will NOT be staying at the Budget Host - Budget yes - Host no. The lady at the front desk was very curt, bordering on rude - don't do this - don't do that - not very welcoming. Everything was very clean - but our room (one door away from the eastern end) was very dated. We also had an unpleasant experience at the pool which took all the fun away. We were given all the rules - and hey - we've pretty seasoned travelers - so off we go - flip flops, swimsuits with coverups (girls) and tshirts (boys). It was early afternoon so what was the big deal? She came charging out - yelling about "SHOES" and I said "Flip-Flops" then she huffed about the "clothes" and I said it was "swim attire". We weren't planning on wearing tshirts and terrycloth coverups in the pool. So off she went - and then she came back out when we had a Beach BALL - the horror of it! A beach ball at a pool. The pool definitely looks clean and pristine - but that's because no one gets to enjoy it. I hope the owners understand that a host makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ChgoBurkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty2, Owner/manager at Budget Host Inn Manistique, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2009

In response to "We had a "bad pool experience" too.
I have checked the register for July 8, 2008 and before and after the July 8 date and find no rent of the 2nd room from the East end of the motel and no one by the name mentioned registered here.
The pool rules from the State of Michigan and Schoolcraft County Board of Health are posted at the entrance of the pool. If you were here and to respond to your "bad pool experience" we are responsible for the quality of the water for all of our guests safety which takes in no shoes worn outside of the pool can go on the deck. If a ball is thrown out of the pool the shoes go on when leaving the pool to retrieve the ball and off again when entering the pool. Also no street clothes like t-shirts or shorts are to be worn in the pool..
I hope this clarifies the rules we are bound by for the safety of all persons using the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Very nice, small, older hotel. Clean and accommodating. They went out of their way for our late arrival. Also, it was very affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otis926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

After driving all day in a hot, unairconditioned car, the kids and I were looking foreward to cooling off in the pool (the outside pool is why we picked this motel in the first place). Anyway, we arrived at 7:30, and when checking in were informed that the pool closed at 9:00 and didn't open again until 11:00 am (check-out time) Since we hadn't eatten dinner, we rushed to a restaurant. By the time we returned it was 8:40pm. The kids begged to have a quick dip so we went. As soon as I stepped through the gate to the pool the hotel manager came charging out of the office and started yelling at me to take off my shoes and she pointed out that the pool closed at 9:00. I took off my shoes and we got in the pool and she returned to her office. A few minutes later my husband approached the pool and again, she rushed like a mad bulldog out of the office and yelled at him not to go into the pool area with his cigarette or his shoes. She then turned her attention back to us and noticed my daughter was wearing a tee-shirt over her swimsuit and yelled at her to take it off. She then spent the entire rest of our 15 minute swim spouting off to my husband and yelling at us. We couldn't even enjoy the pool we had so looked foreward to! The pillows and bed were also too hard to sleep on. Clean...yes, but run by a someone who has taken the hospitality out of the hospitality business!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Dene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patty2, Owner at Budget Host Inn Manistique, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2008

The selected review is in no way accurate and is doing a disservice to my business.
This person is very clear in my mind as he started out in a "change the motel policies & required rules for the pool. He arrived before 9:00 pm and went out for dinner and when they returned his 2 daughters went into the pool with street clothes on and had to be told they could not be in the pool with the street clothes on. (a health department rule, not ours) The health department does not allow anyone on the deck to have shoes on and no smoking in the pool area, and bathing suits only. (A HEALTH DEPARTMENT RULE!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Room was spotless, check in was a breeze. The owners were very nice. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mentat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

As others have mentioned, the place is not new, but has been remodeled to the same level. Our room was flawless. They have new windows too, so there is almost no road noise from US-2. Cable w/ HBO is included.

The in-ground pool looked well-maintained, but we arrived too late to take a swim. It closed at 9pm.

Complimentary coffee, tea, and doughnuts were available in the morning.

We didn't bring a computer, but I noticed a WI-FI router sitting on the counter in the office.

If you need to make a phone call, don't forget your calling card. You cannot charge calls to the room. We had no cell phone coverage at this locale.

Our room was $67. The Holiday Inn Express down the road was asking $109 for the same night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

My family and I stayed at this Budget Host on our way to Canada. In the area, we highly recommend you stop to see the re-purposed
"Muffler Man" at the area visitor center and nearby Big Spring (natural wonder, beautiful park and lots of fun for everyone).

This is a well-kept, clean motel where you drive right up to your room's door. It is on the edge of town near the highway so there is some truck traffic and noise - at all hours.

We score the rooms, comfort and value at 3/5. Double (not Queen) bed was flat, hard and definitely not a pillow-top mattress.

Cleanliness rates a 5/5! Good shower, plenty of hot water. Updated and modern except for the original pink tile in the bathroom - complete with 1950s-style toothbrush and soap holder built-in!

The outdoor pool doesn't open until late June. Now you know (we didn't)! The front grassy area has a double-swing, there were two plastic chairs outside our room, continental breakfast served in the office (just coffee and donuts, until they run out).

Tip: if there is severe weather in the area, do not expect to hear city sirens or be shepherded to a basement shelter. We were warned at
check-in that there were tornados in the area but, apparently, you are on your own about what to do. Thankfully, the weather passed without serious incident.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianefromderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manistique hotels
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Manistique
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
#4 of 7 in Manistique
117 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Manistique
Comfort Inn Manistique
#5 of 7 in Manistique
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn Manistique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn Manistique

Address: 6031 US Highway 2, Manistique, MI 49854-9108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Manistique
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Price Range: $58 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn Manistique 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Inn Manistique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Manistique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing