We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed at the Star Motel several times over the years, always in February. We love to drive to the U.P. to see the "frozen waterfalls." The Star Motel is located in a central area to the things we love to do. Although an older motel, it is very clean and the rooms are large. The rates are low and the price includes a refrigerator and free wi-fi. TV was small and old-fashioned but we didn't use it anyway; bed was comfortable. Would have been nice to have a microwave. The view out the back windows is fantastic; it overlooks Lake Michigan. The owner is very friendly and helpful, always willing to chat about the area, the weather, etc. The Kewadin Casino is only 3 miles away, and you can get a $5 credit per person to use in the casino (if you like that sort of thing).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
54
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This property is a very well maintained older establishment and the only one in Manistique located on Lake Michigan. The rooms are spacious and very clean. In room refrigerators and free wifi are included in the low price which makes this a very good value. We stop here several times a year and will continue to do so as long as they keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingORF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed almost a week here. Best price around, allowed my two dogs to stay with me. Very old fashioned, perfect. Dogs got to run the beach and huge back yard, nothing fenced so you need to have well mannered dogs. Very comfortable room, large. Very clean. Left the back windows open to listen to the wind and water. Coffee in lobby every morning. Close to shopping and places to eat. Spent time sight seeing in the area, it was a very restfull place to stay. Only thing that kept this from excellant rating was that they have no website reservations, everything is done over the phone with a handwritten reservation book. Mom and Son run, wonderful place.

Room Tip: Stayed towards the end of the left wing, so easier access for the dogs to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMe97347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a reservation and arrived around 4. No one home. After waiting ten minutes we went to the Peninsula. Much nicer property. Star may be nice, but rooms are tiny and old fashioned.

Not much available in Manistique.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

While traveling in the U.P. recently, we found the Star through this website. The price is great as was the area information supplied by the owners. The room was spacious, clean with unexpected amenities such as a fridge, toiletries, & hair dryer. The shower had great hot water with decent pressure. The place was quiet and even with all the rooms around us being filled. The hotel is within yards of the beach which made for a great evening walk! We stayed at another hotel in town but the Star is just that the star! And the internet connection was better than the other place too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I generally stay in Escanaba or Manistique when travelling to lower Michigan from the Duluth area, and this time I decided to look at tripadvisor reviews before choosing. What won me over was the fact that Lake Michigan was just a brief walk from my room which many of the other motels in the area aren't. Take note, however, that the shoreline is rocky (great if you're a rockhound like me). Many of the franchise motels have very little character; this had much more charm and the cost was the best I've come across for high tourist season. There's a good restaurant very near that serves pasties, and the Star Motel has a discount breakfast coupon in the lobby for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fennville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep with nothing fancy, but comfortable, clean and reasonably priced, you can't go wrong with the Star Motel. Easy to find and close to the downtown area. View of Lake Michigan and free internet access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manistique hotels
2.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Budget Host Inn Manistique
#6 of 7 in Manistique
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Manistique
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
#3 of 7 in Manistique
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Manistique
Comfort Inn Manistique
#5 of 7 in Manistique
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 1142 E Lakeshore Dr, East Highway US-2, Manistique, MI 49854-1691
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Manistique
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing