We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it. You'll be surprised.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistique
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Try it. You'll be surprised.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on the overall positive reviews we tried the Star Motel last week and the review were right on spot.

An older motel but clean and easy to find. Microwave Oven and Fridge. WiFi was good (and free). Everyone we came in contact with was very nice. Bonus was Casino dollars offered each guest.

If you don't have a preference when in the area the Star Motel is worth a try....

Room Tip: Sorry, but I didn't have a chance to check out any rooms other than the one we stayed in. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    54
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
54
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Star for the first time last week based on all the great reviews here, and I have to say, trip advisor did not steer us wrong. We were on our way to Mackinac Island where we spent the next few days at the Grand Hotel. We love the Grand, and have stayed there numerous times, but in spite of a price tag nearly ten times higher, our room at the Star Motel was cleaner. Not much to add to everything else that has been said here already. Wonderful people, the cleanest rooms anywhere, very reasonable rates, and right on the lake. Unless you can't live without a pool, hot tub, fitness room, bar, etc., there just isn't a reason to even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in 2011. Great rate, convienent, refrigerator in the room & lake view with windows open that let the breeze in. Walked on the shoreline from their backyard. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book one you'll know after staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyre926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This motel is independently owned but very well cared for and CLEAN. One of the few motels in Manistique on the water. You fall asleep to the sound of the waves and the feel of the breeze. I called a few weeks before, they took my name but no credit card to hold. Just on my honor that I would arrive. Star Motel is six stars out of five.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is on the end near the lawn swing so you can relax just out side your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dorothy and her son Leo have done a great job of keeping their property clean and updated without losing the old school charm of the bygone days of the independent highway motel.

Dorothy checked us in and could not be sweeter. Check-in was easy and real key was given for room number 1. All rooms have a view of the lake, but Room 1 has the best view (picture provided) and also is right next to the picnic tables behind the east end of the property.

Room1 was large and very clean. Our bathroom was just recently painted old school aqua. TV was larger than anticipated. Plenty of space for three adults.

Queen Beds were comfortable. I slept on the provided air mattress placed on a rollway frame(fairly comfortable-especially with extra blanket and mattress covers for added cushion.)

Decent speed internet is provided, however to receive a signal, you must be closer than about the third room from the lobby on each side of property.

Overall-great location, very clean and great ownership. Thanks Dorothy and Leo!

Room Tip: Last 3 rooms on each end might not receive wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C$hepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our 3rd visit over the last 6 years and I will always stay at this hotel when in this town. Great location with the Lake waves rocking you to sleep. This is an older hotel that has been upgraded just the way I would have done it. Large rooms, nice colors and most important CLEAN. Not 5 star beds but just what you would expect in this type of hotel. The internet even worked better than some upscale places I have been. Great rates as well, No doubt about it if I ever visit this town, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here on our way through the Upper Peninsula. While the motel is older, it is very well maintained and clean. We could see the water out our back window and it is right on the main highway through town. A restaurant, the 3 Seasons is just down the road and we went there for dinner. Wifi worked well and the bed was comfortable. Woud stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manistique hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Manistique
Comfort Inn Manistique
#4 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Budget Host Inn Manistique
#6 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
#3 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 1142 E Lakeshore Dr, East Highway US-2, Manistique, MI 49854-1691
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Manistique
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing