We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good for a brief stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Manistee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Manistee
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manistee
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Good for a brief stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I found the Days Inn staff to be very kind and friendly. They were attentive to our needs. Our room was a King bed room. The bathroom sink is outside of the bathroom and our shower area was a climb in and the shower head was low for my husband whose is 6'3". That being said we looked into other places and they also had low shower heads. The TV was off to the side from the television, but there was a recliner for one person to sit in by the TV. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave which came in handy for food I had brought with. The towels are not the best, but they do the job. The lighting above the recliner could be better and the switch by the door turns on that light. Sink had a few cracks in it. The hotel has well water so if you are not used to it, then bring your own water. There was no water available in the breakfast area, so we had to bring our own. Caulk by the side of the tub could be redone. The shower itself was beautiful and the water pressure was good. We did not need to use the air conditioner a lot, because the weather was cool. It took some time to figure out how to get the cooler air out.

As others have said Sue is wonderful and I told her she has gotten a lot of favorable reviews. Very helpful in telling us what road to take during our day trip towards Traverse City.

For the price it was a good deal, but I would prefer a different place if I were to come to this area again. We stayed five days and it was too long to be in the same room for that long. Make sure you have them take the safe charges off your room at checkout. It says it on the safe, which is on the bottom shelf of the nightstand. The safe charge was mentioned on my registration receipt too and I became more aware of it, because of what some have said here.

As for the area, the Riverwalk is worth checking out, especially in the evening when it is quiet. We did the day long trip from Manistee to Traverse City and headed back to Manistee using US 31. M22 is the scenic route and well worth the drive and the many stops Ludington and Pentwater are south of Manistee and are also beautiful towns to visit. Even if you are not a gambler, the Little River Casino Resort is worth a peek, especially the resort part. There is a nice atrium behind the restaurants. Very peaceful and luxurious there.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and faced the parking lot, but at least we were away from the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    119
    114
    66
    20
See reviews for
179
154
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manistee, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

nice motel,friendly staff good breakfast close to wendys,pizza hut kmart dollar store grocery store nice pool and hot tub when u can enjoy it parents just let there kids swim in there and splash all over

Room Tip: i perfer the first floor its close to the pool and exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

At this Days Inn, the staff was friendly, especially Gloria, who served the continental breakfast. I was definitely consider this a low-end, very generic hotel. Here are some not-so-good items:
-The baseboard in my room was falling off.
-The bathroom door was gross with dirt, and not wiped down - ever?
-All walls and trim were painted white, but not taped off or trimmed in properly. The white was now gray-ish and laden with dirt marks.
-The bathroom sink was cracking starting at the drain and about 5" up the bowl.
-There was no bedspread, but a white comforter covered up with a sheet.
-Few/ no amenities. No fridge or microwave in the rooms. Only two vending machines (one soda and one snacks).
-The rate was fairly reasonable, but in this case, I feel like I received a LOT less than what I paid for.

Room Tip: Go to Microtel. Much nicer, newer and cleaner, and about the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manistee hotels

Manistee, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent staffing! Took very good care of us. Great sense of humor. Easy to get along with. Kudos to Gloria, Kelly, and Kaitlynn!

Suggestions: Automatic (motion-sensitive) nightlights should be in all rooms. Make sure that when they set up the rooms there is a night stand on either side of the bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2133Dave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Was a nice place to stay. The room was clean and the bed with my bad back and leg, brought a good nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was just right, especially when you're greeted by by sweet breakfast staff lady. Good Morning! I'm thinking her name was Sue, but anyway, she was a great spark to start the day off right. All of the staff at this Days Inn were very helpful and quite pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and had everything we needed. Everyone was soooooo nice. The girls on the desk were very helpful and Sue in the dining area was a wonderful added pleasure. She was a helpful, happy and may our stay more enjoyable.The young lady that cleaned our room, was very nice and did an excellent job.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I must've stayed in the same room as the last reviewer. Although stating recently renovated, my sink was also cracked and the same sign was on the wall. The bathroom is small and the faucet leaked and there was a rust stain. Hard to miss if anyone is doing any sort of maintenance checking. Got extra charges for the cable (really?). For $156 for one night it was drastically overpriced. There were lighting fixture covers missing in the pool area which was heavily chlorinated. The drinking fountain did not work and the game room was combined with the laundry. Which was small and not worth using unless really needed.

You had to go to the front desk to get pool towels. Obviously the clientele of this establishment cannot be trusted with towels. The pool was good size, but the hot tub was small (maybe could hold five without becoming to 'cozy'.

The breakfast was adequate, but seemed limited on choice.

The light for the 'desk' area was located at the entrance, the door did not close without a push, and there was only one outlet between the beds in conjunction with the light. In today's electronic era, this is not sufficient. Had to run an extension cord by the bed to the 'desk'.

The staff at the counter was friendly and they did help when I asked for adjoining rooms. But when I called asking about late night pizza, they stated none was open after 10pm. But I called the advertisement left in the rooms and they still delivered.

If we ever come to Manistee again, we will find another facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
20.3 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 9 in Manistee
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverside Motel & Marina
Riverside Motel & Marina
#9 of 9 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Manistee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Manistee

Property: Days Inn Manistee
Address: 1462 Manistee Highway, US 31, Manistee, MI 49660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Manistee 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Manistee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Manistee Hotel Manistee
Manistee Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing