We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use help from Robert Irvine”

The Painted Lady Saloon
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Manistee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Painted Lady is located in Manistee, MI it is the oldest operating saloon in town. The bar and tin ceiling are original from when it was built back in the late 1880's. When Bob and Linda Venne bought the building in 1994 they turned it into The Painted Lady Saloon which is now well known for their broasted chicken and award winning home-made soup. They offer breakfast, lunch and dinner plus a full bar from open to close. With a wide variety of food to choose from it's the perfect stop for a good meal and a little bit of history.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could use help from Robert Irvine”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was immediately turned off when we sat down and saw dirty plates with chicken bones on them on a stack of menus next to the kitchen door and next to our table. The plates stayed there for at least 30 minutes after we arrived. Not sure how long they were there before we arrived.
Food was average at best. Broasted chicken was average, not exceptional. Catfish was served cold. Redskin potatoes needed seasoning, any seasoning. Cooks need training, but they were working hard. They struggled to keep up.
One off duty waitress was in the bar getting smashed and talking really loud about what she thought of working there.
Patrons were smoking in the restaurant and bar in violation of state law.
If you go here, be ready for a long wait.
It could be much much better, but that would take a lot of work, a lot of cleaning, and a lot of training.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganTransplant63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful place for dinner”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place is so awesome. it has the old style look with a updated menu for everyone and the prices are also great,Everyone should stop in for a ICE cold beer and a very good meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brybs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leroy
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“BEST Food in Manistee!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's always a difficult choice between their homemade soups or the broasted Chicken or Pork Chops. This time we chose the Broasted Chicken. Heaven! The meal includes 4 pieces of juicy, non-greasy, lightly breaded, non-salty broasted chicken (1/2 chicken), choice of potatoe, choice of coleslaw, applesauce, or cottage cheese & a homemade bisquit. Definitely worth the price. The staff are always friendly, as well as the patrons. We love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rychrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool Local Joint”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Best Broasted chicken we've had anywhere and we try it wherever we find it. Prices are reasonable and a really cool atmosphere. Locals are always friendly and staff are always on their game. I've yet to have drinks their in the evening but I can only imagine how fun it would be. We've been to the Painted Lady about a dozen times over the years when we visit Manistee and will continue to do so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We picked The Painted Lady Saloon as our lunch spot. Our Internet research included “The outside doesn’t look like much but don’t be afraid to go in.” They were right - it ain’t much to look at. But the inside was fine. And it is located a little "out of the way".

The menu stated that they were the longest operating saloon in town - but I forgot to ask just how long that was. I wasn’t sure why it came to be known as the painted lady. The only lady working there was our waitress. She wasn’t wearing an inordinate amount of makeup. (I did notice though that she was well-endowed, but I digress.)

The food was typical pub grub and not bad. Joan liked her chicken strips and fries and I enjoyed my BLT and bowl of chili. Good but not “write home” good (then why am I writing about it?)

Twenty-five bucks, including tax and tip for the experience. We'd probably stop here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Lady Saloon also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to The Painted Lady Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing