We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My room was small but comfortable. Quiet nice place, could use to be updated and maybe a little better repair in some places. Friendly staff. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWR4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_River_Inn, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your business and we hope the next time you're in the area we'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 742 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have stayed here the past 3 years during part of our vacation in Michigan. This Microtel
is both CLEAN and well managed. After staying here, we tried a few other Microtel's (one was in Holland Michigan) and they did not measure up to this one at all. This one was just recently known as the "Big River Inn" and is now back as a Microtel.
IF.... the management/ownership is the same (and you might want to inquire about this) then I would not hesitate giving a thumbs up to this property.

Room Tip: Ask about YOUR ROOMS amenities, and get a clear understanding of what you are getting before you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stay at this Microtel several times a month and are always very satisfied with the cleanliness and friendly staff. Rates are very fair. Continental breakfast bar is always clean and orderly. Great coffee, too, for those late nights when returning from the casino down the road! Highly recommend this motel. Also casino shuttle to/from Microtel is a plus.

Room Tip: Rooms are all satisfactory, no matter which floor or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_River_Inn, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! and hope to see you back soon! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for a work event at the Little River Casino, just three miles up the road. Had a double room, two queens. Room was adequate, very clean, bathroom included. No hairdryer (really?!?) The bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home, and this is saying a lot. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a free shuttle to and from the casino, which was nice. Breakfast was sparse, two cold cereals, yogurt, bagels & cream cheese, english muffins, milk, juice & coffee. If there was more it was not memorable. All public areas were clean. For the price and the convenient location (right on the corner of M-55 & 31) it was a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_River_Inn, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

We're glad you found your accommodations satisfactory; and appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel looks quite new and nice, but the traveler should be aware that the rooms are tiny, spartan, and unappealing. An immediate tip to the type of clientele this Inn expects to cater to (if that word could be used) is found in the "signs" posted for the "guests". These signs remind you to observe basic niceties such as "not disturbing others by banging doors late at night" and, in so many words, warn you to not steal the pillows and towels. The attitude these signs convey to patrons is insulting and demeaning to say the least. To add injury to insult, the night we stayed at this hotel, there were strong winds in the area, gusting to above 40 miles an hour. The cheap and flimsy construction of the building did nothing to protect us from the noise of the howling winds, basically resulting in a miserable, sleep-deprived night for me. Although the rooms were clean, and the morning breakfast was of standard quality, I could not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Elkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_River_Inn, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Please accept my apologies for your recent visit. I'm sorry you found your accommodations so unsatisfactory. I appreciate the feedback; thank you for taking the time bring these things to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

There seemed to be a lack of decent hotels in the area, so stayed here strictly due to its proximity to the Big M in the Manistee National Forest, participated in the North Country Run Ultra(50 mile). Don't understand how anyone could find this hotel to be anything but terrible, then again people have different perspectives on what clean, comfortable, and such are. First of all, the hotel shows up on several travel sites as Big River Inn, but it is really a Microtel Inn, which is reflected in the signage, hotel reciept, etc. This was not a problem for me, since I knew that from previous reviews.

The front desk was not friendly, the elevator was slow and wreaked of smoke (and I never complain about elevators), the room smelled wierd and musty, the air was not on when we entered. Room and bathroom are small, cramped and horribly designed, extremely strange lighting over the bed, huge mirrors covering the entire back wall, tiny desk, strangest placement I have ever seen for a TV on top of the wardrobe closet, extremely minimal counter space in the bathroom, absolutely no amenities (just two crappy bars of soap), room/bathroom not clean-tons of dust on top of wardrobe closet and TV, carpet is black and sticky, found hair on a towel, a pillow, and the bed sheet.

Insulting, idiotic signs all over the room: 1) do not iron on the window seat, 2) you will be charged for taking any towels/pillows, 3) if you have forgotten anything please call the front desk. All this from a hotel that does not provide you with an iron or board, the towels are disgusting, the pillows are subpar, and there are absolutely no amenities in the room.

The walls in this hotel are the thinest I've experienced in a long while, you could hear everything you could and could'nt imagine, loud and clear. Noise was coming from every direction, thought that someone would come crashing through the roof at any moment, knew that a family of 4 was staying in the room next to us, even though we never saw them, could hear their conversations, showers, toilet flushings, etc., and last but not least could hear doors and people in the hallway.

We actually did request another room, but upon entering we decided it was worse than the one we were in, so having to run 50 miles the next morning, we decided to just stay in our original room, and try to get a good nights sleep on the one clean bed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamburgerler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

To be fair, I'll list the good attributes first.... the public areas and rooms are VERY clean, and bed was comfortable. The price was good, BUT beware with the low price you get no coffee maker, no hair dryer, and in my case, I understood our room to have a mini-fridge, which it did not. (We needed this for my husband's insulin) Very, very sparse decor, and rooms oddly planned, with no bedside lamps and light switches all the way over by the window. Towels were good, but we had to ask for more twice since there were 3 of us and they only left enough for 2 people. The breakfast is minimal, with just mini muffins, a little fruit, but no milk or cereal. Another minor thing that irritated me is that my son lost $1.25 in the snack machine (for ONE candy bar!!) when his item got stuck and the front desk wouldn't reimburse him. They said they didn't have a key to the machine and did not offer to give him back the quarters he lost. Not very customer-friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbeezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
609 reviews
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
23.2 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
605 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverside Motel & Marina
Riverside Motel & Marina
#10 of 10 in Manistee
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee

Address: 226 E Parkdale Ave, Manistee, MI 49660-1150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Inn & Suites Hotel Manistee
Microtel Manistee
Microtel Hotel Manistee
Manistee Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing