We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza the first night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Al's Pizza

Big Al's Pizza
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Manistee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pizza the first night”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just got back from a stay in Maniste Mi. and everyone told us to try Big Al's . The first night we ate in and ordered a extra large and an order of bread sticks . Before we got to our table the bread sticks arrived and we were told they just happened to have some ready . They were warm but not fresh out of the oven hot. The pizza was one of the best pizzas I've had in years . Everything about it was perfect .
Two evenings latter we ordered take out and also added a Stromboli . We watched our pizza and Stromboli sit on the counter while they made the bread they must have forgot to start . The pizza was Cold but still real good . The Stromboli was one of the best I've had , wish I lived near so I could get it once a week . The bread wasn't very good , overcooked with way too much garlic .
If your in Maniste try Big Al's , just might want to dine in

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelAvenger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    32
    25
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT Pizza & Mozzarella Breadsticks!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We came back from a day in Traverse City so that we could eat dinner at Big Al's and we are So Glad that we did! Great Chicago-style pizza for a great price! The mozzarella sticks were really good as well! The service was friendly and the atmosphere was fun!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and other things too!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Really good pizza! Not the cleanest place but not dirty either. Classic pizza place atmosphere. If you want classic pizza, this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Do not order Gluten Free”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I loved this place as a kid but now that I have to eat Gluten free, I can't eat there. They do have a "gluten free" pizza but they are not careful AT ALL with it. They didn't use a clean pizza cutter or wash the flour off their hands. If you need to eat gluten free, keep driving. I was violently ill after eating there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjlutefisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay pizza.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everyone in the area said we needed to try Big Al's, so we did, but were pretty underwhelmed. It was really busy- so ordering took a while, and the inside dining was stifling hot, so we moved outside to the picnic tables. The pizza really isn't that good, sadly. We had high hopes- but honestly, I think Little Ceaser's has better pizza...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beHonestevery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Pizza also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to Big Al's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing