We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antiquated but Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Shore Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Shore Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Manistee B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Antiquated but Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is nothing more than a room to sleep in but it is right across from a beautiful beach. Very affordable but frankly I would rather pay more and have had some additional amenities such as a kleenex in the room, a plug in the bathroom and a shower I that was above my shoulders. That being said, it is a great location for children or anyone looking for beach time. I was very surprised that they did not even have grills on the property because it seems to cater to families that want to just hang on the beach and grill dinner afterward. Our stay was unfortunately disrupted by 3 or 4 rooms of elder, drunks with foul language who were literally falling down by 10pm but I can't fault the hotel for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dar241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for an awesome place for kids to have direct access to a beautiful beach, playgrounds, basketball court, tennis courts and soon to be opened concession stand this is your place. The room décor harkens back to the Up North motels my family frequented back in the 60's and 70's. So I had the nostalgia vibe going, but some may call it dated. Above everything though our room was immaculately clean, kudos to the lovely ladies that work so hard to keep it this way. The biggest negative though were "neighbors" in the room next to ours that encroached further and further into our space and kept their dog tied to the picnic table. Nice dog, but he did use the sand as his "doggie business" area; even though they cleaned up this was still the sand we walked barefoot in to get to the beach:( If you like a campground, we're all friends kind of feel this is for you. May not be like this all the time, but it was not quite the relaxing get-a-way my husband and I had hoped for, but our boys 11 & 14 LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Don't pick the very end unit furthest from the office, you only have a view of the "sand du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polishhulagirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First, this is not a b&b, it us a motel. The rooms are spacious, 2 double beds with plenty of room. The TV is tiny but we didn't come for TV. The rooms are outdated, its a motel. There is no AC at least when we stayed but it wasn't needed as the weather was mid 80s during the day and 60s at night. The location is great for beach and the small downtown. Price was $95 for doubles before taxes which can't be beat. Don't expect a resort, don't expect modern, expect value with the public beach a quick walk across the road.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an affordable getaway on a beautiful beach - this IS the place for you. My concerns regarding this hotel were quickly put to rest as I arrived and found my waterfront room very quaint and clean. I commend the owners of this establishment for keeping this beauitful location affordable and still comfortable for visitors who have a love of the water and don't need fancy. I will certainly be visiting this location again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobynLHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a small, family run motel with a great location. Sits across the street from Lake Michigan. Most rooms have a view of the lake. This motel is older and not recently upgraded as another reviewer describes, but it is clean and well cared for. If you are just looking to spend time at the beach with your family/friends without the crowds of South Haven, etc. it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank myange247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with our twin 13-year old daughters while attending a family reunion with relatives who live nearby. We selected it due to its location on the beach and walking proximity to our relative's home.

The location and view are unbeatable, especially for a family. There is a clear unobstructed view to the beach and lake from every room. The beach is superb - broad and long, with white, clean sand. I observed a municipal vehicle cleaning the sand on the beach several times. The beach has a good playground for kids, volleyball nets, and a walkable jetty out over the lake to a small lighthouse. It is within walking distance of a nearby community park, and with a little extra effort, to downtown Manistee via an easily accessible canal-side boardwalk. This was all just lovely and enchanting.
I do not think there is another hotel in Manistee that can boast of these immediate surroundings.

To endure the hotel itself, however, we required moderated expectations and a sense of humor. We somewhat anticipated what we were getting into after noting that their website offered no property photos other than of men holding large fish.

The interior has not been upgraded in many years. The walls are 70's-looking dark wood paneling, the bathrooms equipped with blue and/or red fixtures. Our room had a small (19 inch?) LCD TV with cable, and a box fan for circulation. The floors were covered with what might have once been brown carpeting but now just a nondescript dark color, the pile ground flat from years of wear. There were no bugs, although on our last morning a man came by outside generously spraying a liquid all over the exterior of the hotel outside our window, which might explain why. The bedding was comfortable and the linens were clean. We got a pair of adjoining rooms with connecting door to share with our daughters, which worked well.

For our $100/night/room, it would be easy to feel the place was way overpriced. I'd say $70 was for the location and $30 for the accommodation. From that perspective, a fair value. Hard to say if we'd return. The kids loved the stay, but not because of the hotel. Bring a sense of humor, and you may have fun.

Room Tip: Request connecting rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank browdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 9 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
20.3 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 9 in Manistee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manistee Inn & Marina
Manistee Inn & Marina
#2 of 11 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Motel

Property: Lake Shore Motel
Address: 101 S Lakeshore Dr, Manistee, MI 49660-1514
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manistee
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing