We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little River Casino Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Reviewed December 3, 2010

very good place to stay and play.i have been ther maybe about 10 times and i enjoy every trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 390 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

We recently spent a weekend (2 nights) at Little River Casino in Manistee, MI. This was our first visit. Check-in was quick and efficient, service was top notch with the employee giving us more information than we ever needed. She went over the driving and walking directions to our room (located in the North Hotel, or wing, have you). Luggage carts available or bell service. We took care of our own luggage, with a luggage cart. The walk is not that bad, and we had a room on the 4th floor, overlooking what appeared to be the back of the hotel. The view from our room was that of a bit of a marshy area, with some small sand dunes.

We were extremely pleased with our room. First, it was very clean. The beds were very comfortable, but I have to complain about the pillows. Either flat, or hard. I ended up sleeping with the pillow that was in the pillow sham! Otherwise, we slept like babies. We had a double queen room, as this was the only accommodation available. Our room had 3 nice chairs to sit in, wing back style. A medium size round tile table, with a coffee pot and telephone between two of the chairs. The other chair sat in the corner. There is a nice 3 drawer dresser with the flat screen TV on top. There is two open cabinet cupboards in the dresser. A nightstand between the beds, with one drawer and one open shelf, lamp and another phone. There is a large, full length mirror on one wall. Lighting is OK, could be better, esp for reading. There is a nice closet with an ironing board and iron, one luggage rack, several hangars, laundry bags (plastic) and a safe. They had a light in the closet-yeah!! Great idea. The light automatically turns on and off when opening/closing the door.

The bathroom is a nice size. There is a sink/mirror outside of the bathroom, with an ice bucket and drinking glasses. In the bathroom there is another sink, with decent bath products. Great towels! Curved shower curtain. Tile and granite and nice touches here and there. They need a hook on the back of the door! Shower pressure-well-not the greatest, either. Not enough pressure. There are several choices for types of water spray.

Overall, the room was very clean, quiet and well maintained. The TV works well, and has several channels to choose from. Both telephones, all plugs, locks, lights worked. The balcony door is beautiful and opens fully. However, there is only a fake balcony-nothing to step out on. The heater was almost too good-too hot, or too cold. Couldn't find that perfect setting.

The resort itself is very nice, laid out well, and has several nice amenities. The gift shop is fairly large and had a nice variety of merchandise to choose from. Employees were helpful and fun to talk to. There is nice, attractive, comfortable public areas, with plenty of benches or chairs to sit in. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby. The waterfalls, streams and plants were refreshing. The pool is small, but nice to have, as well as a hot tub and sauna. Nice towels!!

The entertainment center was a bit of a disappointment to us. We were there to see a concert. Chairs were crammed in to take up as much space as possible. You are practically and literally, at times, sharing your neighbor's chair or he with you. We could not comfortably put down our arms without fear of bumping (or worse) our neighbor. To have to move down the aisle you are seated in, through a sea of legs, well, it was almost impossible without falling in laps or over the people in the next aisle. Ridiculous. There should be about 8 less rows of chairs and 10 chairs per aisle.

The acoustics were great; alcoholic beverages available before, during and after the concert. Lighting is good. And security is tight-they would let no one down near the stage, thank goodness!

The casino is a casino-nothing special about it to put it in a different light than other MI casinos. Fairly small. Lots of smoke. Lack of wait help; hardly saw anyone clearing away beer bottles, emptying ashtrays, or getting drinks for players. But everyone seemed to be having a good time and the tables were full.

There is a club with live entertainment (at least on weekends), but it was packed to beyond capacity, and not a single person could move on that dance floor. Again, lots of smoke and empty beer bottles, glasses and such. Good luck finding a table. Again, saw no wait staff. Everyone seemed to be lined up at the bar to get their own drinks. There are also a couple other bar areas you can sit down at and/or get a drink at in various parts of the hotel.

Three restaurants: We ate at all three, all were good. I am doing a review on two of the nicer restaurants. The 24 hour deli didn't have a lot of choices, and in a casino, people want choices-not just salads and sandwiches wrapped in plastic. Disappointed in this. There is also a Cold Stone Creamery and we enjoyed the ice cream from there very much.

There is also a small Indian Museum that you should take a quick look at, located right outside of the gift shop. A cool canoe, Indian clothing, eating utensils, tools, drums, jewelry etc; pretty interesting.

They also have an RV park, I am guessing it is seasonal. Full hookups. Small playground out back of the hotel. Huge parking lots, shuttles....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The casino is great fun for the adults and the outdoor park is small but fun for toddlers. I love the grounds with the greens and inside with the waterfall and bridge my son just loved that. The rooms are very clean and housekeeping was always on que. The one bad thing is that they are definetly not sound proof and the noise from the hallway was heard all night long.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karissadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Only the Very Best of every thing. lodging, food, gaming, and the staff is without question so helpful and friendly.
We went in June for a birthday, and now again this weekend for our Anniversary and it will be in one of their beautiful suites. To rate this Casino...... only top of the line, we can't wait for Saturday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbl2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

First time visit.Arrived at 12.30 a.m.Found it quite dark inside and only seen about 50 people after walking around.Signed up for players card,no comp. dollars for first time customer?Card was plain white,no logo,they had ran out of the regular ones.Played slots and cards for a while and decided to get a room at 3.30a.m.Good value at $59.Front desk lady a little blah!I'm glad I'm in good shape the walk to the room was quite a long distance from the lobby.We stopped to get breakfast but the restaurants were closed (other casinos have 24hour food service)snack bar open and didn't offer plated breakfast food.So we ate burgers and cheese sticks.Thought I had accumulated some comp. dollars in 3 hours but was told I only had $1 on my card.On the way to the room I noticed dust and dirt under the hallway and exterior furniture,carpeting not clean either.Waterfall was very beautiful,so was the fireplace.Alarm clock in room went off at 9.00 a.m. we had not set it,housekeeping needs to check on that.Also that morning we could hear carts clanking and vacuuming outside our room early.Went back into casino late morning,didn't see any servers with coffee or pops.I figured that was why there weren't too many patrons,Little River is not up on their game and have no draws to keep you there.Just take your money and give nothing back.We drove a long way only to be disappointed.Wont go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed in the North wing for 3 days and had a great experience in the casino winning my first jackpot at 65. Room was very good and exceptionally clean. The expansion in dining choices is a welcome bonus from previous visit in 2007. My wife is a popcorn addict and therefore much appreciated the popcorn treat. Of course, winning is good, but the overall experience was good anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indianahlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The River is a great place to have fun, good food, and some of the best service around!
I am a Gold card member and the River really knows how to treat there members well!
Everytime I stay there I don't want to leave. Little River is always a winner in my book!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRosales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
627 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
447 reviews
3.9 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
623 reviews
20.6 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Casino Resort

Address: 2700 Orchard Hwy, Manistee, MI 49660-9752
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated at the corner of the US31 and M22 in the charming town of Manistee, Little River Casino Resort is one of the most exciting entertainment destinations in northwest Michigan. Opened in 1999 with just 600 slot machines, our casino* has grown over the years to include over 1,300 slot and video poker machines as well as dozens of table games, with more added all the time. Renovated in 2016, the casino is now more spacious than ever, with friendly dealers who will make you feel right at home. Our lodge-style Manistee hotel features 292 well-appointed rooms inspired by our beautiful natural surroundings, offering guests the ultimate in comfort. Additionally, our 95-space RV Park is ideal for travelers who love the open road. During your stay, enjoy the suite of new amenities added during our 2015-2016 renovations, including new indoor and outdoor pools, new restaurants, and new Nectar Spa & Salon. Looking for live entertainment? We have that too, with nationally headlining musical and comedy acts performing regularly at our 1,600-seat event venue. Little River Casino Resort is owned and operated by the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians. *You must be 18 years or older to enter the gaming floor at Little River Casino Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Manistee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing