We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke odor permeated the whole facility”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little River Casino Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Rochester, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smoke odor permeated the whole facility”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This resort looks great from the outside. The staff is pleasant and the rooms are nicely appointed. We reserved a king balcony room 10 days before our arrival.. When we checked in, we were told there were no balcony rooms available, but we were put in a first floor room in the north wing which is farthest away from the casino. Although each room in that area had a no smoking sign on the door, the smell of smoke was strong in the corridors. The room was clean and towels and sheets fresh. Just the air was a problem. There was not a window available to open to permit fresh air to enter our room. The only choice was to prop open a french door which led to a public garden area. Not a good choice! Also, this is a large newer property, yet no wifi was available in the rooms. If you are a heavy smoker and don't need internet access, this is the place to stay. Otherwise, keep looking. Interested in a great cup of coffee or nice glass of wine? Keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    118
    40
    21
    20
See reviews for
60
185
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stay at LR about once a month. Fabulous service...the staff always makes you feel good. Rooms are beautiful and always clean. Restaurants are decently priced, and that little cafe/deli makes AWESOME pizza by the slice! Tend to win more here, too, which is obviously a plus. LR recently remodeled the entire facility and it's just a stunning pictorial of naturalistic elements.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlikeabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We happened upon this place traveling down Rt. 31 and decided to check it out. We paid $89 for a room on Monday evening, signed up for a player's card, got $10 in free casino money each, and half off a buffet breakfast (which was only $7.99 to begin with). The hotel room was in the south wing and absolutely beautiful. Large ceramic tile, all modern decor with oil rubbed bronze fixtures, etc. We ate dinner in the restaurant and had very good food. The staff was friendly and helpful and we even won a little money. We are not gamblers, but we were quite impressed.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Smoking in the Casino
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rednan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

This is a newer, first class casino hotel. We booked in at $110 on a Thursday..which I consider a bargain. We've paid more for a lot less. Nice appointments, like real, 12 inch by 12 inch tiles surrounding the shower. There are two basins one in the bathroom and one outside the door. Beds were very comfortable and sported a douvet (do-vay) (so my wife says) . Also l;iked the 4 pillows on each bed. There are 292 rooms. The hotel staff couldn't be friendlier or more accomodating. If you're going to lose your money, one might as well do it in nice surroundings!

The only thing marring our experience was the overly tight slot machines and the god awful food in the casino's WILLOWS restaurant, which was so cold you could hang beef! - Better choice is the deli next to it.

  • Liked — Quality, nice decor, cleanliness, roomy
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodgravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.8 mi away
Manistee Hotel
Manistee Hotel
#4 of 11 in Manistee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Casino Resort

Property: Little River Casino Resort
Address: 2700 Orchard Hwy, Manistee, MI 49660-9752
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Victorian port city of Manistee, you'll find one of Michigan's most exciting entertainment destinations, Little River Casino Resort! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Manistee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing