We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food, good local business.”
Review of Bungalow Inn

Bungalow Inn
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Manistee
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Friendly staff, good food, good local business.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Bungalow has a nice casual atmosphere. The food is good, as well as the service. Great place to drop in for lunch or a Drink on your way through Manistee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPalmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    108
    41
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've been coming here for 4 years as the restaurant choices in Manistee are quite limited (but that's changing). My husband's shrimp salad was covered with tiny defrosted shrimp. I ordered prime rib. While the prime rib used to just melt in your mouth, the last two times I've ordered it, it tasted microwave reheated. The second time I sent it back. Salads even look and taste like they are made up that morning and left on a shelf for a while--no mixed greens, just iceberg. Dressing on the side comes in a plastic solo container--tacky. Maybe a place to go with your fishing buddies to sling back a few brews or if you're more interested in quantity versus quality. We won't be going returning now that there are better dining options are in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GRGirlrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent Food, good prices”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

So we went there based on the positive reviews here and out hotels' recommendation. This appears to be where the locals like to go.

Atmosphere reminds me of a lodge, wood paneling. They had the TVs on tuned to golf for the tourist golfers i guess.

We placed our order - jalapeno poppers, lake perch, and the rib eye special. They brought us our dinner salads which appeared premade with a slice of lettuce, a slice of cucumber, and some shredded carrots. Then they brought us our entrees--we had to ask to have the poppers brought to us as they had been forgotten. When we got them they were very hot as they had just been made.

Overall not bad but nothing i would write home about personally. Food tasted good--standard steakhouse fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food was nearly inedible. Burritos contained about an entire pound of ground beef with not much else. Tasted old and Pre-prepared. Chips were stale.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ovladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a part of our visits to Manistee!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We always find ourselves at the Bungalow everytime we visit Manistee, which is several times a year. I must admit that I have ordered rather plain dinners in the past that did not seem like they did much from the freezer box to the dinner table other than a quick zap - but most of the time we leave with our bellies full and quite content. The burgers and fries will never disappoint - but make sure you come with an appetite, or be ready to share, because they are extra large!!! The atmosphere is very relaxing and clean and there's a full bar for those looking for a dinner cocktail! If you're in the area, this place is a must visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheepish02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bungalow Inn also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to Bungalow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing