We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lawnmowers At 8:15 a.m.! Are You Kidding Me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Pinnebog, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lawnmowers At 8:15 a.m.! Are You Kidding Me”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This review probably would have been a little better under other circumstances. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a refrigerator and a microwave, a comfortable king bed and a nice pool. However the noise generated inside and outside the facility was terrible. The soundproofing is very poor. The first wake up call came at 6:15 a.m. when the person next to us checked out. The second came a little after 7:00 a.m. when the people upstairs began walking around and the cleaning staff began cleaning the room that had been checked out of. There was constant noise from the street traffic throughout the morning. The real kicker was at 8:15 when the lawnmowers, weedwackers and leaf blowers started outside of our room. We might have been able to overlook this if I didn't have a 2 hour drive and then a 10 hour work shift when I got home. A very irritating experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back by the pool and off the street to avoid the traffic noise. Ask if any lawn ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robalooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    52
    25
    10
See reviews for
67
38
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This seems to be a typical Fairfield Inn. It is not luxurious like the higher end Marriott brands, but it offers all the basic amenities and the staff was friendly. The room was clean and had a decent view. The breakfast was a VERY nice spread for the price of the room. Upgraded hot continental would be the best description of it. There was sausage and make your own waffles. Unfortunately, the breakfast area is so tiny that there was a huge line to just sit down and eat, much less cram food onto the tiny Styrofoam plates.

This wouldn't be my very first choice of hotels in the area, but definitely worth considering (as opposed to the HORRIBLE Fairfield up at 14 mile and Van Dyke that we stayed at the night before... wouldn't wish that one on my worst enemy!).

Room Tip: Third floor is better view. Make sure you get your Platinum Elite perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGoBlueBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T.o.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn Madison Heights weekend of May 19/13. The hotel is located in a industrial/business area and is close to the highway. McDonalds and Applebees across the street. The weekend I stayed, the hotel was practically fully booked.

The check in was ok and was assigned a room on the first floor. This building was 2 storeys. Note if you have not stayed at a Fairfield Inn before, the entrance to the front door is from the outside.
My room was small with basic tv and bathroom. One of the desk lamps was not working the entire weekend.
I found that because the walls were thin, I could hear the people walking/talking outside as their cars were in the parking lot a few feet away. The front door is very heavy and thus, could hear the rooms next door when they were closed. I could also hear the family who stayed on the 2nd floor above when walking across the room.

The hotel is average, they try hard to maintain the propertyto try and keep it in good shape and it shows. On the flipside, the hotel is a bit older. I will stay for a short time if the price is right but would not stay and pay the full price they were quoting callers to the front desk

Room Tip: Try and get room near back of hotel and off main road due to road noise
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich,IL ( Chicago burb )
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my 4th Fairfield Inn location, and quite frankly a disappointment. I drove up to notice that this appears to be a converted Motel. The old style entry doors on the outside of the building gave this away. I felt I was staying in a 1970's Motel. My room was on the 2nd floor close to parking and heard the cars pulling in. The room with a King size bed was tiny and felt very cramped for a Fairfield. The floor above me was noisy as I could hear the steps of somebody making their way to the bathroom. I found the breakfast not so good as far as the watery eggs and soaked sausage paddies. My 2nd morning I came down at 8:35 A.M and these eggs were not even filled in the container and people were walking up to find that they had to resort to instant oatmeal, cold cereal or yogurt.

I cannot really comment on service as check -in was fine. I really should of canceled and drove another 10 minutes to Sterling Hts location! This location was down the street to I-75 which was convenient.

My opinion here is to avoid this location and opt for another even though my rate was $109.00 for Tuesday/Wed.

Room Tip: Choose another Fairfield location unless you are a heavy sleeper and the price is dirt cheap....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotRod1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a great stay, great value, great experiance. Rooms were a bit small. Great staff, nice managers reception, great location. Overall an excellent stay. I have stayed at several Fairfield inns and this has been the best stay yet. Most of all, staff knows about hospitality and how to make ALL guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequent_travel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a typical hotel for the brand and it was clean and comfortable. They have some reasonable jacuzzi suites too. It is good location off I 75 and close to some good bars and restaurants in Clawson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I phoned the hotel looking for a rate match. The gentleman who answered the phone replied with a simple "nope" and hung up. No worries, I submitted a best rate guarantee claim to Marriott and it was promptly approved. Therefore, what started out as a $69/night reservation and had the potential of being a $48/night reservation ended up netting them $36/night after the 25% discount. Not my loss, I suppose.

The standard rooms are extremely small, almost to the point that I consider them slightly cramped. If you are traveling with two people and are in a room with one bed, you may find the limited allowance of personal space a bit aggravating.

If one is looking for few to no frills accommodation, this place isn't terrible at all... but it's still possible to do better in the area for a similar amount of money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madis...
#3 of 9 in Madison Heights
92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#5 of 9 in Madison Heights
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
Address: 32800 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Madison Heights)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Madison Heights Hotel Madison Heights
Fairfield Inn Madison Heights
Fairfield Madison Heights
Madison Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing