We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend , 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently moved into the residence inn ~ from a sister Marriott. I travel 98% of the time, and I have stayed at many many hotels...this residence inn is by far one of my favorites. I am generally an extended stay person, and this place accommodates and exceeded all of my expectations. The up to date kitchen, with a full size fridge is a trait rarely found in today's hotels and they have one, with an ice maker. Two Thumbs UP
The staff here goes out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, which is awesome!

Room Tip: The room I had was in the corner of the lot, no road noise, no foot traffic, not one single complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you Josh for taking the time to review our hotel! We are excited that you will be staying with us during your travels to the Detroit Area. I know Sara is especially happy to have you stay with us, seeing how you were her favorite guest at the last hotel she worked at. Please know that if there is ever anything that you need, we will be happy to make sure that you have it. Thanks again for reviewing us. Safe Travels, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed at this property for approximately 2 1/2 months, along with 2 other Detroit-area Residence Inn properties prior to moving to this location. Although it is an older property, the Troy/Madison Heights location has been superior when compared to either Pontiac/Auburn Hills or Novi. The apartment/condo-inspired design offers direct outdoor room entrances and a more residential feel. A complementary full breakfast is included daily, and an evening light meal is offered Monday - Thursday weekly. All are generally well-executed and the staff hosting meal service are very friendly and accommodating. During weekday breakfasts, Sharon is well-known for her custom-made Belgian waffles and a smile and nurturing word on your way out the door. Similarly, Sara typically hosts in the evening and always has a smile and pleasant greeting when you arrive. Unlike other properties where I have stayed, the General Manager (Justin) is frequently visible and interacting with guests to ensure they are having a pleasant stay and their expectations are being met. I definitely recommend this property, particularly if you will have an extended stay and would enjoy a more residential 'vibe' and sense of connection with the staff and local community. Here, most everyone is ready and willing to provide insight into local activities and ensure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenJRN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you, Glen, for taking the time to review our hotel! It warms my heart to know that we make you feel so at home and comfortable. At Residence Inn our goal is to make you feel at home...it's not a "room" it's a "residence". Sharon, Sara and I all enjoy our daily talks with you. We look forward to your future visits while in our area. Best Regards, Justin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just spent 3 nights in this hotel while in town for a business meeting in Auburn Hills. I stayed in a bi-level suite that was very nice and comfortable. The hotel is just your typical Residence Inn, but what makes this place stand out is the staff. From the woman that checked me in, the very sweet woman who convinced me to have breakfast before my long drive home, up to the General Manager. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeljsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to hear of your positive experiences. It was our pleasure to make you feel at home while working in the Auburn Hills area. We hope to have you back when you are in the area and we appriciate the recomendations. Have a fantastic day! Justin Morandini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at three different rooms in three hotels in Detroit in July and August. First we stayed one night at Embassy suites close to Detroit Metro airport, then Residence Inn by Marriott Troy in Madison Heights and finally Fairfield Inn and Suites in Farmington Hills
Something that was unknown to me before travelling to Detroit was that there are perhaps tens of districts and small cities in Detroit. Trip advisor does not help for those of us Europeans who do not know this and search for hotels in “Detroit” only. There are also many hotels from the same chain in each county making it all very confusing.
We stayed for one night at Embassy suites before renting a car and going to Toronto. My info from Embassy suites is therefore very limited. The hotel was old and at 4 am suddenly the fire alarm went off. No explanations to the reason and you can guess how we felt travelling from Sweden. The hotel pool is both indoor and connected to outdoor. The water in the pool was cold and not cleaned. Breakfast was good and with multiple choices. You can have your omelet made for you. Rooms were old. I loved the small garden as it was the first time in my life I saw a humming bird close to me. Our room faced ventilations and was really noisy. This hotel has free shuttles to the airport. The shuttles for all hotels are close and call the hotel after you passed through all controls because it juts takes the driver 10 minutes to come to the airport.
After coming back from Toronto we stayed at Residence Inn for 13 nights. We had booked this hotel via Hotels.com for three weeks and though we booked with possibility of cancellation we misunderstood that we can even shorten our visit. This was due to problem with hotels.com info. This hotel is old and in desperate need of renovation. The breakfast is ok but the breakfast lady during weekdays makes very watery waffle batter and stops you from using the machine. The housekeeping is the worse I have seen in US. Despite the house manager whose name I have forgotten promised to check our two rooms, they were not cleaned by any standards. Everyday shampoos or something was missing and we had to go and ask for it. The pool is outside and cold and in contrast to the other two hotels there is no Jacuzzi. There is however a gas grill and basket field. No gyms. The price for laundry is higher than Fairfield Inn. The TVs are not working. Nine of the channels were having problems. Having a small kid made all the difference and therefore we moved. We talked several times to the manager and he could not fix it. At the end we asked for discount and he discounted one night which we thought was two low, basically meaning 3% for the two rooms we had rented. We therefore moved to Fairfield where the hotel was better and 30 dollars per night cheaper! This hotel is the only one with kitchen.
We checked several other hotels. One was Fairfield Inn which was much closer to where we wanted to go. Sylvia at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful. The water temperature in the pool was very pleasant, the type you just can get into without needing to warm up. There is jacuzzi and good breakfast with few more choices though not like Embassy suites. No free dinner on some nights like Residence Inn. Clean and quite rooms. This hotel is not available on hotels.com. Enough breakfast place unlike Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screenname060309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am deeply saddened by your experience at my hotel. It is our goal to provide exceptional service, and I apologize that you did not experience that. You had mentioned that our hotel is in need of renovations, we had a complete rooms renovation in 2010 and have some other areas in the works right now. Our breakfast person try's to give an added touch of friendliness by offering to make waffles for the guests, if someone wants to make their own we certainly will not stop them. At Residence Inn, we provide different types of housekeeping because of the length of stay for our guests, sometimes it is not known by the guests and they expect a full deep cleaning every day. Our pool is heated, however, if it was a cold night the night before it takes some time to get back up to temperature. We do have a fitness center in the hotel, right above the breakfast area, I am sorry that you were not aware of it and did not get to utilize it during your stay. The TV's were having problems during your stay but we did get the issue resolved, unfortunately, it was towards the end of your stay. I hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will give us another try. Safe travels and best wishes, Justin Morandini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here on our way home from Chicago. Decently priced. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was okay. Quiet spot. More of a condo set up. Nice outdoors to sit. The pool area was very clean. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to Review our hotel. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to the Troy/Madison Heights Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are frequent Marriott guests, especially Residence Inns as they cater to our toddler family very well. We, however, were disappointed in this location. It is an older property, but the rates reflect a more modern location. We stayed in a bi-level room right by the highway. The highway noise was very distracting at night. The hotel wasn't horrible, but not what we expected for the money. We would have expected a location on par with the Residence Inn Moline Quad Cities which we visit every year (same type of town).

The front desk staff was very nice, however. I didn't bring up my dismay, as this is really out of their control. If I had an issue with something specific in the room, etc., I would have spoke up.

Room Tip: Stay away from anything near building 12. It is right by the highway and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHagsAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, Manager at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Although our hotel is an older property type, we have done many things to update and keep it looking new. Our rooms were renovated and we have made recent improvements to our exterior as well. We appreciate you noticing our friendly service, as it is something we pride ourselves on. Don't forget our room rates include daily full hot and cold breakfast buffet and free wireless internet and full kitchens in the rooms - which is perfect for traveling families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Especially the breakfast lady that would not let anyone make a waffle but herself. Clean and nice stay. Very cold during my trip, but the room was nice and warm. Easy to use thermostat, nice TV and good channel selection.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunter9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnMHGM, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. We take pride in our customer service and we are glad that you noticed. We will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to our staff. If you are back in the area, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#4 of 9 in Madison Heights
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights

Address: 32650 Stephenson Hwy, Madison Heights, MI 48071-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range: $101 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether staying a day, a week, a month or more, you will have room to relax, room to work and room to breathe at the Residence Inn by Marriott – Troy/Madison Heights. Each suite includes a fully equipped kitchen and a spacious living room. Our suites offer 50% more space than an ordinary hotel room. Come stay with us and see for yourself that the Residence Inn by Marriott is your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights Hotel Madison Heights
Residence Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing