We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thin walls; no on-demand movies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Certificate of Excellence
royal oak, United States
1 review
“thin walls; no on-demand movies”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The room had thin walls, which sucked because the neighbors were not even that noisy. Also, there was no on-demand movies available, so I was stuck with whatever was on 20 stations. Staff was very friendly and paid attention to detail. Breakfast was your average continental breakfast, with the Dannon yogurt being the highlight. The make-your-own waffles is always a crowd-pleaser, but lacked fresh berries and whipped cream for topping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear: Clair D

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. I am sorry that the facility was not to the standard that you expected. I can certainly understand that hearing the guests next door is not a good thing, and we are working on getting more choices as far as the TV channels that we offer.

I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future,. Thank you again.


Sincerely,


Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    191
    66
    22
    15
See reviews for
157
133
55
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was almost speechless with how well the staff handled me not receiving my wake up call, making me late an important lecture I was teaching. They immediately apologized profusely, comped my room and the GM sent a personalized follow up apology that was very kind. Mistakes happen...it's all in how you handle it, and it couldn't have been done better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear: Holly G

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with us. I am so sorry that we did not give you your wakeup call that you requested. We have put additional training in place to keep this from happening in the future.

Sincerely,

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very Clean and comfortable. Complementary breakfast was great. Close to shopping and restaurants. Internet (Free WiFi) was also good. Felt safe as they have security on site during evening. Would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear: Francis W

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We appreciate your business and look forward to meeting your Hotel room needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The customer service is bar none and the amenities are nice but it is the employees who make the experience. Arielle, Ralph, Tonya, Lawanda, and the security all made the trip worth it. Every where in the hotel was clean. The fitness center is actually equipped with a sauna. The breakfast was different from day to day with little tweaks here and there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear: Terrence S

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. I want to also thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. I am very proud of the staff here and will certainly share your comments with them. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit.

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Best stay ever. Great room & mattress & wonderful full breakfast. Also appreciate the the policy of 100 percent satisfaction or the room is free. We could not find one thing to complain about. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear: Joan M.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We appreciate your business. Please think of us if your travels bring you back to the area.

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel was neat and clean and the room was newly decorated. We had a great stay and wished we could have spent more time at the hotel. It was convenient to UDM where our event was, and convenient to the expressway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear: Marie R.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We are also very happy that you took time to write about your stay with us. We are very proud of our hotel and look foreword to your next visit.

Thank You,

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hickory, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Room was clean, breakfast is above average, bathroom towel shelves were dusty...otherwise the bathroom was clean, hvac system was a bit noisy, guest were noisy in the hallway at night, location was good with easy access from the freeway, good work-out room and equipment

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dttmh, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear: Terry G.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights, MI. I will work with housekeeping to pay more attention to the towel shelves to make sure that they are clean. Also, we will check the air conditioning unit in that room. Thank you again for staying with us.

Tom Keller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madis...
#3 of 9 in Madison Heights
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Troy
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
Address: 32420 Stephenson Hwy, Madison Heights, MI 48071-5517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing