We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A clean hotel offering free breakfast bar with waffles, eggs, bacon, fruits, etc. fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs in lobby a business center free access & wifi fitness center & warm cookies when you check in. Staff couldn't be nicer! A business persons destination. Nice rooms. No restaurant on premise or too close but have external delivery options

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbourinaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are certainly proud to read that you found the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights to be "a clean hotel".

We do indeed offer a great value with our complimentary breakfast bar featuring fresh waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh whole fruit and fresh sliced fruit and so much more. We make it a point to offer fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs a day, conveniently served in the hotel lobby.

Many of our guests comment that our business center with free wifi access is very convenient. Our guests love our fitness center & those fresh baked warm cookies that you also mentioned in your review.

We are thrilled that you and so many other guests find our staff to be "nice" and accommodating! A number of our guests are business travelers as well as leisure travelers and many of our guests are here attending family and local sporting events.

And although we don't have a restaurant on the premises, we are within walking distance to McDonald's, Applebee's, Outback Steakhouse, and a local diner the Melting Pot. There are also several restaurants and cafes right in the immediate area ( within 2-3 minutes) such as: Chili's, Grand Azteca Mexican, Logan's Steakhouse, Oakland Mall's Food Court, Burger King, Taco Bell, Wendy's , Steak and Shake, Bob Evans, Clawson Steakhouse, Pizza Hut, Panera Bread, Mon Jin Lau, and Starbucks.

If we may take this opportunity, please allow us to share with you there are also many unique restaurants and cafes within 5-10 minutes from the hotel. If you ever wish to venture out a bit further for additional dining options; many of our guests enjoy visiting downtown Royal Oak or downtown Clawson. Please feel free to inquire at the front desk if you are ever in need of a restaurant recommendation or delivery menu, we are glad to assist our guests with maximizing their traveling experience.

Best Wishes,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    177
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
134
117
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was in town for a wedding reception and stayed at this hotel. I didn't book in time to get the wedding rate but they gave it to me at check-in anyway! The staff was also very helpful when I forgot some of my belongings there. The room was very nice, clean, up-to-date, and as I've come to expect from Hampton Inn, had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom wasn't too small and the FREE warm breakfast the next morning was a nice touch as well. I would definitely stay here again and never seem to be disappointed with Hampton Inn hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieDucati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very proud to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you found the hotel staff to be very accommodating.

You are right, typically there is a deadline to book within a group block of at least two weeks prior to arrival. However, depending on the particular weekend’s demand for a group's stay we may be able to still offer the group block rate to a guest that has missed booking by the deadline.

We often find that guests leave behind an important item or two after a stay with us, we are happy to work with the guest to get those items safely returned to them.

We are glad to read that you found our rooms to be "very nice, clean, up-to-date" with a "very comfortable bed”. We should alert you and our other Trip Advisor subscribers that we have a variety of bathroom styles to choose from. Many guests do not know that we offer bathrooms with a shower only as well as bathrooms with both a shower and a tub, and lastly we offer accessible bathrooms with in-room accessibility and a roll-in shower ( a shower bench is also available upon request).

Guest do seem to really enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast each morning that also features a variety of chilled items to choose from such as cereal, yogurt, fresh sliced fruit salad and fresh whole fruit.

We would certainly love to have you stay with us again and welcome you to come back - perhaps for an extended weekend. Remember this area offers some fun/unique dining and shopping options. Many of our guests enjoy visiting downtown Royal Oak or downtown Detroit during their stay, both only a quick drive away.

Best Regards, Safe and Fun Travels,


Rodney Jackson and Staff
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
330 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an older property that has had some “superficial” upgrades over time. As an older property, the layout is dated and the room sizes are smaller than other similar properties. This is not a “suite” property. I stayed in room 414 a “deluxe” king room.

PRO's:

• Price
• Very good beds and excellent pillows
• 32” TV
• Solid surface counters with tile floors in bathroom.
• Bathroom was clean
• Decent workout room with free weights
• Has micro/fridge combo
• Small seating area with foot stools


CON’s:

• Older property
• Outdoor pool closed for season
• Small bathroom with shower only
• Carpet worn, dirty in spots
• Hallway to rooms smelled stale

WORK AREA

The work desk was good size with a small upper tire. The work chair was adequate. Congratulations to Hampton for having FIVE (5) outlets for electronics AND 2 USB outlets!

BREAKFAST

The breakfast was good and on par for this type of property. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles and usual cold offerings. Seating area was clean, but a little short on ambient lighting.

SCORE: This is a good property for the money and I would likely stay here again in the future at the right price.

I would give this property an 85/100 overall and an 88/100 for value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
On behalf of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights we thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of our hotel. We welcome your feedback and greatly appreciate your time, business and observations.

You are right this is an older property. We have had many updates over the years; however our most extensive update was a full renovation at the end of 2009.

This particular hotel does not have suites, although we do have a number of room styles to choose from ranging from king, double, single, king with a pull out sofa bed and we also have the deluxe upgrades (rooms with a fridge and microwave). We do hear similar comments such as yours that this hotel offers a great value with the variety of amenities offered coupled with the attractive rates offered; especially for weekend stays and group events. Guests just seem to love our comfy beds and excellent pillows and the size and quality of our high definition televisions (32”).

Guests find our bathrooms to be well stocked with the necessary essentials and plush bath towels. Our fitness center is enjoyed by many of our guests and many of our guests especially enjoy utilizing the free weights included in the fitness center. In 2009 we added a pool to our hotel's amenities; our guests can now enjoy a refreshing swim during the pool season (typically from Memorial Day to Labor Day). You are right about the work space being sufficient, isn’t that rolling desk nice. We listened to our customers and recently found there was a need for more electrical outlets near the work area, we have recently increased the number of outlets available in the guest rooms to make our work space more efficient for our guests power needs.

Please know that we make every effort to ensure that the carpets smell clean and fresh, our carpets are professionally cleaned by an outside company twice a year and throughout the year by our staff as well.

We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection. You are right; each day's menu includes a choice of at least two to three hot items, not even including the opportunity to make a fresh cooked waffle too. Many of our guests enjoy starting the day with our chilled yogurt and fresh cut fruit.

On behalf of everyone here at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights, we wish you the best of luck and safe travels.

Our Best,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

It was the second time i stayed at the same hotel, this time with the boys, when we checked in the guys were laughing, and i wondered whats up, i was the guest of the day, which was a nice touch, the room was great, clean and the bed was super comfortable, always a great stat at this hampton inn

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience and comments with us via Trip Advisor.com. How fun to be the honored "Guest of Day” for your stay. May we share with you that we try to pick an arriving guest each day to share a fun treat with; perhaps a guest visiting with us that has an extended trip away from home or a guest celebrating a special occasion during their stay. We hope that this gesture welcomes our guests to the hotel and area in a friendly surprising manner. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the treat. Thanks again for your multiple stays with us. We always welcome your feedback and appreciate your valued business.
Our Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was looking for a hotel around Troy area, but they all are above my company budget. Luckily I found this hotel as their rate is a little bit lower and it is located nearby Troy/Royal Oak area. There are a lot of food/retail choices nearby Oakland mall. Somerset Collection in Troy is not far from hotel either (about 5-6 miles).

The rooms are typical new renovated Hampton Inn. I like having a fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom is clean, but a bit smaller. The closet space is a small, but since i only stayed for a couple of nights, i had no complaint. The only thing i didn't like was their pillows. I usually like Hampton beds and never had problem with their pillows either, but at this hotel, i just didn't like all of them.
Their breakfast is good and always stocked.
Their fitness center is small with only 3 cardio machines and some free weights. There's also a Sauna room inside the fitness center which i enjoy using it while staying there.
Unfortunately there's no coin operated laundry machine at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We also want to tell you how much we appreciate you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are excited and pleased that you found your stay and rate to be a good value. Yes indeed, we are very close to at least three local malls and a variety of restaurants.

The hotel was fully renovated at the end of 2009. However, we are also always working to keep the hotel looking fresh and up to date. We do have a number of rooms that are deluxe rooms which include a fridge and microwave. Please let us know if you ever need additional hangers for an extended stay. We also have an assortment of pillows available. Some guests request non-feather pillows during their stay. Upon a guest's request we may deliver alternative pillows to a guest's room.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and that you found the assortment of items to be satisfying and well stocked.

Please keep your eyes peeled, we just may get an onsite laundry center for our guests' use, sometime in the immediate future. We listen out for our guests' feedback and comments and try to offer amenities that suit our guests' needs. Once upon a time our fitness center didn't include the free weights, however after taking our guests feedback into account - the free weights were added to our fitness center for the convenience and enjoyment of our guests.

We wish you well and safe travels. Until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just trust me, this place is wonderful. Rooms are clean and everything inside seemed new. Service from everyone in the hotel was kind and on point with whatever requests were made. Food was good. Area seems safe and welcoming. Location is convenient....Close to mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Kimberly G:

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights on Trip Advisor. We are certainly glad that you had such a pleasant stay. It is our highest priority at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights that all of our guests have an experience similar to your experience. We hope that you will join us again. We wish you continued pleasant journeys in all of your travels.

Warm Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best surprise is no surprise and the Hampton Inns I have stayed at are dependable.
Pros
- Staff was friendly and helpful with directions
- Breakfast area was well stocked and maintained - better than other Hampton Inns
- Rooms were clean and remodeled w/ newer flat screen TVs
- Price was good

Cons
- Few that I can think of. The area around the hotel is light industrial park

Overall this was a good choice for our family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXcoffeetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear PDXcoffeetraveler:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your time. We are very pleased to read your take on our pros and cons. Please allow us to add just a few bullet points to shed a little more light on the cons area of our review, just in case you might be interested in taking in a bit of nature or shopping during your next visit. Although the Hampton Inn Madison Heights is located in a light industrial park area, just one block west of the hotel, an unlikely surprise awaits. Within a short walk guests will find the Exchange Park. This little park is located on Campbell & Montrose between 13 & 14 Mile. Acreage: 14.50. Hours: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM. Facilities: •Ball Fields/Back Stops•Soccer Area• Tennis Courts•Play Structure •Swing Sets

We know that many of our guests do realize that Hampton Inn Madison Heights is also conveniently located within walking distance of Oakland Mall which is just east down 14 Mile Road not even one mile.

We certainly hope the details listed in this response will come in handy for you, perhaps for your next visit to the area. Please join us again.

Best Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madis...
#3 of 9 in Madison Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
Address: 32420 Stephenson Hwy, Madison Heights, MI 48071-5517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing