We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This Hampton Inn is well-maintained, well-managed, clean and efficient. Very clean rooms, with big, comfortable beds. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great free breakfast, including hot entrees that rotate day-to-day. (Try the western omelette!). Free parking. Free wireless.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have room-darkening curtains, but not sheer curtains behind them.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear DaveIndy,

Thank you for the great review of Hampton Inn Madison Heights (Michigan). We appreciate the helpful tips that you shared on Trip Advisor.

We do hear many great compliments about our guests' enjoyment of the Hampton Inn complimentary full breakfast bar; which is open to each of our guests from 6am - 10 am daily. Our typical breakfast bar includes: assorted breads, assorted cereals, assorted yogurts, fresh whole fruit, fruit salad, boiled eggs, fresh made waffles, hot oatmeal, eggs, assorted juices, assorted teas and assorted coffees and either bacon, turkey sausage or pork sausage.

Thanks again for your valued business, time and consideration.
Please accept our apology for the delay in acknowledging your review.

Warm Regards,

Tonya Lewis
Director of Sales
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
USA
+1-248-585-8881
+1-248-585-9446 fax
dttmh_hampton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 607 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is about 15-20 minutes from downtown Detroit which makes it a good option if you want to save money while visiting the city. Looking at a map, it appears that the hotel is next to the highway. It is, but the exit is about 2 miles south. Not a big deal and not difficult to get to the hotel but be prepared. This was my first stay at a Hampton. It's pretty standard. The desk clerk could have been more pleasant but that may be normal for Detroit as I ran into that at other places. The room is small - there's enough room to move around without bumping into furniture but that's about it. The bathroom, however, had plenty of room. The beds were comfortable. The towels could have used a lot less starch. Also, housekeeping could do a better job cleaning the shelves in the bathroom. It was obvious the joins between the shelf walls and bottom hadn't seen a good cleaning in a while. When the wood is dark, built-up dust is easy to see. Wifi was free and secure. The free breakfast was standard for this type of hotel - a mix of hot and cold foods served just off the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear CovingtonCat,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights.

I see that we let you down during your stay in 2012. We strive to offer the best customer service to our guests. We want to "WOW" our guests!!

You might be surprised to read that we have had many wonderful guest reviews over the last two years. Perhaps we may have the honor of having you revisit the hotel in 2014!! We believe you will have an enjoyable stay with your next visit.


Our Best Regards,

Tonya Lewis, Director of Sales
Hampton Inn
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Hotel Email: Dttmh_hampton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at Hampton Inn for last week of January/early February ... staff is excellent, friendly, accommodating, and the room was perfect for me with microwave, refrigerator, flat screen, Internet wireless, comfortable king size bed, nice linens, and good HVAC system. Pricing is excellent with specials offered at various times, so ask about them ... and cannot end without mentioning one of the best hot breakfast selections I have encountered at any hotel displayed every morning. While I was there the offerings were Belgian waffles, omelets, french toast, bacon, oatmeal, breakfast breads, juices, fresh fruit and is available until 10 A.M. The 24/7 fresh coffee/tea station in the lobby is also a plus, with nightly cookies and other goodies available. Manager is certainly doing a wonderful job at this property. I will come back to this hotel when visiting the Oakland County area ... in fact I would drive an extra distance to stay at this location ... it is that good. There are other amenities I did not use like the fitness center and of course the outdoor pool in February, however they are there as well as a business center in the lobby area with copying/faxing/Internet etc. etc. ... Enjoy your stay, Michael T.

Room Tip: My tip would be to tell the person at the front desk what you need and they will accommodate if able...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Michael T,

We are remiss that we are just responding to your review from 2012. We wish to thank you graciously for your review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us back in 2012. We are certain that your review has proven valuable for many travelers over the last two years. Your comments about the hotel were thorough and pertinent.

We thank you for your valued business.

Please join us again, especially if you haven't over the last two years.



Our Best Regards,

Tonya Lewis, Director of Sales
Hampton Inn
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Hotel Email: Dttmh_hampton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

They did a large retrofit of this hotel, removing most of their bathtubs and opening windows. They also made it non-smoking. We always had issues with this place with smoke. A number of the floors were smoking and the smell permeated everything.

We received a special offer from them for the Jan 27th weekend for $49pn. We decided to try them again for that price. We have recently changed to the Fairfield Inn, which is next door to them, usually less expensive and always smoke free.

We were given a room on the 4th floor, which smelled, and changed to another, also on the 4th Floor. We ended up getting the stench of smoke coming in to the vent in the bathroom. I complained three times but they could do nothing to find the person smoking. They told me that they would do nothing anyway to them, even if they were located.

The room was also quite stuffy, no windows opened. I made sure not to have an ajoining room as the noise can sometimes be a factor. I had noise anyway - 4AM - very thin walls I guess. I had the AC fan on all the time to try to bring in some fresh air but it was quite noisey.The hotel was not very crowded.

Breakfasts are good, room is clean. In closing, I think that we will go back to the Fairfield Inn for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor if you want a room that has a window that can be forced open by a...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelbyrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Our sincerest apology for your unfortunate inconvenience you experienced with the smell of smoke, during your recent stay. Please know that this was not a typical weekend for this hotel due to there being a onetime group in house that weekend. As you may know Michigan became a state where smoking is prohibited in most public places as of May, 2010. This hotel is indeed a non-smoking hotel and has been completely renovated. Preventing guests from smoking in the hotel rooms is vitally important to us and our customers. Unfortunately we don't catch every person who smokes in a room. But we make every effort to insure our guests are comfortable. We would welcome another opportunity to have you experience a better stay with us, at your earliest convenience please give us a call.

Best Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Hampton Inn Madison Heights

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

For a Hampton Inn, the rooms were very nice, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The staff was helpful. The only complaint I had was that it was noisy. The walls seemed to be a little thin but it was also New Years Eve when I stayed so it was a little roudy in the hallways. I think if you stayed here on a regular night it would be much quieter. Overall, it was a good hotel and I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Ann R.,

We wish to thank you graciously for your review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us back in 2012.

Please accept our apology for not responding to your Trip Advisor review sooner.

We thank you for your valued business.

Please join us again, especially if you haven't over the last two years.



Our Best Regards,

Tonya Lewis, Director of Sales
Hampton Inn
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Hotel Email: Dttmh_hampton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I reviewed this place in August and have stayed twice since. My positive feelings have not changed. The people who work there were great. On one of the occasions, I was "guest of the day," and received a room upgrade and a little goodies basket. I noticed one of the reviewers claimed to have experienced bed bugs here. Having stayed three times in the past few months, I have never had a single issue in that regard or any other. When there is a 'special,' (holiday, weekends) the value is excellent. This is a place I continue to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdetroit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Jdetroit13;

We wish to thank you graciously for your review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us back in 2012 and that you enjoyed the special honor of being "Guest of the Day".

Please accept our apology for not responding to your Trip Advisor review sooner.

We thank you for your valued business and repeated stays with us.

Our Best Regards,

Tonya Lewis, Director of Sales
Hampton Inn
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
Hotel Email: Dttmh_hampton@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at this Hampton Inn for one night whilst on business.

I think it is in a good location, in an industrial/office area, so felt safe and it was quiet on a Sunday night. Hotel was very easy to find and had alot of well-lit parking.

The hotel was clean, realtively quiet and well laid out. It is obviously geared towards business customers and there were signs everywhere welcoming guests. Every staff member was polite, helpful and seemed to care about my welfare.

I stayed in a king-bed corner room, which was clean, comfortable and quiet! The room was a little on the small side and the bathroom was small. No bath-tub, just a shower, but this was OK and the water pressure was good.

Only real issues were that the AC/Heater is a little on the loud side and quite strong for such a small space. I woke up with a sore throat.

The internet connection, as with ALL Hampton Inns, is quite slow and this is annoying.

One starge issue is that the water level in the toilet bowl was a bit too high! This can be a bit of an issue for us guys, if you know what I mean!!!!!

Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn, it was more than adequate and there was a lovely lady running the breakfast area. Check-In and check-out was swift and efficient.

Just a very short drive to malls, supermarkets, restaurants and the Interstate.

Overall a pleasant stay and I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROADWARRIORSDTTMH, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thank you so much for your review. I realize this note is a bit late in coming :-)..


Tonya Lewis
General Manager
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
32420 Stephenson Highway
Madison Heights, MI 48071
248-585-8881 - Press Option #2 or Extension 500
248-585-9446 fax
tonya.lewis@hilton.com
It’s my honor to serve! ツ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Troy
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Address: 32420 Stephenson Hwy, Madison Heights, MI 48071-5517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range: $76 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing