We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”

Aspen Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 77 Restaurants in Macomb
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a leisurely lunch by the fireplace. The decor is "lodgy", with lots of beautiful wood. My meatball soup was very good, and very hot. The chicken salad served to two of us was non-descript, with not a lot of flavor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissouriLakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    46
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Hts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second trip to the aspen will not go bacl”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the second trip to the aspen, and I will probably will not go back. Food was mediocre and service was terrible. Our waitress did a very poor job in the service. Sadly to say the food at Burger king would have tasted better and at least I would have no issue in getting a refill for my drinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BE CAREFUL”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

MEATLOAF and FRIED CAT FISH terrible as was the SERVICE.
Watch your credit card for mysterious charges.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peppy3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
333 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is a lot to see at this place. Log Cabin with animal heads and skins, really makes you feel as if you are not in southern michigan, but up-north. The Cobb salad had the freshest ingredients, making the salad wonderful. Side salad was also fresh and crisp. The spare ribs were falling off the bone done. I got the ribs and shrimp, and shrimp were nice and large. I like that they don't have a lot of sauce on them, and not at all hot. Very much to my liking. Another entree' was the perch. Very light batter, and plenty of them. There was also the Campfire Chicken which was also very good. Our waitress was very friendly and fun, and attentive. This is one of my favorite places to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food & nice casual atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went here for our Anniversary dinner and were both very happy that we did. The atmosphere is 'log cabin' casual and most inviting. The service and food were excellent. You must try their special Aspen Salad, it is really delicious. Good menu, and they offer 'happy hour' between 4 & 6 which sure cuts down on expense. Recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collinrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Clinton Township, MI
 

Been to Aspen Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing