We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The only complaint I had was the stuffiness I felt upon check-in and the hallways. We could never seem to get rid of the humid stuffy feeling of the outdoor heat. Granted it was hot and humid outside....but.. I expected some relief when walking into the hotel and didn't get it. My two friends and I did request the two-room suite and asked for 3 beds, and were very happy to have just that. The beds were comfortable to us. The breakfast in the morning was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

After reviewing some of the reviews about this hotel online, I was a little skeptical of staying there. However, I never encountered any problems while there. Our rooms were always cleaned and ready when we came back in for the day, they allowed our pet dog to stay (first floor only) and even had a welcoming bag for her (dog treats and necessary bags along with a list of recommended kennels in town). All the staff that we encountered was friendly and nice and liked our dog.
Most people on this website has complained about the beds and although I cannot totally disagree with them, I do realize that this is not the Ritz nor is it my own personal bed at home. The bed that I slept in was comfortable but of course not my own home bed. I've come to realize that most of the negative reviews are from a bunch of spoiled tourist. And some reviews on here stated that it's a tourist trap - well, of course - it's a tourist destination and they have to make money somehow since their season is usually May-October.
I think there is new management running this hotel and I saw the manager helping clean rooms, picking up trash in the hallway personally. I can't say that I've ever seen a manager do this when there are employees that are paid to do this - he just did what had to be done when it needed done.
I would recommend staying here to anyone that reads my review and am looking forward to staying here again soon. Mackinaw City is such a pretty little town and the view is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed one night before taking the ferry to Mackinac Island for the week-end. We planned on staying Sunday night before our drive home on Monday, but we canceled our reservations. The shower had hair (the kind you especially don't want to see) stuck to the walls. There was a piece of brown toilet paper stuck back in the dispenser. The beds were not comfortable. The room was cramped. A friend arranged the room for us so we didn't complain. We just won't ever be back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigblue57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed two days for a weekend getaway. We had a beautiful room, very, very clean and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home. I originally booked at another hotel down the road on the water but I'm glad I kept this reservation. Breakfast was good. Pool, hot tub area beyond clean. The staff was very helpful with information on restaurants and fun things to do. We plan to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Mackinaw City again next month!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly_hit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Was looking forward to Mackinaw City but the town in just a tourist trap.....nothing extraordinary...the Holiday Inn kinda matched the nothing special...dated....appeared clean but smelled musty. Won't be back to this area anytime soon....what a ripoff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnnurse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I have to be honest...when I read some of the previously written reviews we were a little nervous prior to our trip. What a waist of stress! When we were driving home my husband reminded me that I needed to get on here and write my own review. First of all I just want to say, we had the best time this past weekend and can't wait to come back. We were traveling with our kids and 2 other families and all of us stayed for 3 nights (wish it was longer). When we got to the hotel we were able to get into our rooms even though we got there earlier than they originally said we could check in. When we made our reservations we asked that our rooms be connecting or close together...2 rooms connected and the other was across the hall....THANKS!!! Our rooms were very nice and exceptionally clean and trust me b-4 we get comfy I'm the type that looks under the bed, flips back the blankets and checks the floor in the bathroom and if it's not clean I'll call and have someone come and clean it w/ me standing there (yep, I've been called worse). Loved the fact that you couldn't hear people in the halls either! It drives me crazy when I'm lying in bed and I can hear people in the hall or the room next door. While enjoying breakfast at the hotel we would plan our day. Thanks to the great staff, it was like we had our own tour guides helping us each morning. Everyone had great recommendations on where to go for dinner and things to do to both entertain the children (ages 1 1/2 to 14) and adults. The location of this hotel was perfect (especially for the price)....we walked down to the beach to watch the sunset, walked under the bridge, to the park and even snuck in a visit to the fudge shop. Don’t worry you can workout at the hotel! One day we spend at the island...remember to ask at the front desk for discounted ferry ticket, w/ the amount of people we were traveling with it saved us a fortune! We rode our bikes downtown about 5-6 blocks to go shopping, eat lunch and putz around. I wish I could remember the names of the all the staff who helped make our stay so wonderful. Thanks to everyone at the Holiday Inn Express! Thumbs up from all 13 of us, we can’t wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCMOM31808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I brough three kids to stay at the Mackinaw City Holiday Inn to swim and have a sleep-over. We enjoyed the room with a view and the pool was nice, clean and warm enough. We enjoyed the breakfast, nice beds and cleanliness. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjo49781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $89 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing