We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Lakeside(Mackinaw City)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Inn(Mackinaw City)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$77
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Mackinaw City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
212
175
91
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
175
91
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinehi expressfront deskcinnamon rollsroom was cleanthe breakfast areaceiling fanpool areanice staysmall balconyshort driveupper peninsulaoff seasonhot tubnice breakfastwould definitely stay here againthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 550 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We travel frequently and had never come across a hotel that allowed a guest to book the floor they wished to stay on. This how it should be done. Staff was great and the location even better. It offers a convenient jumping off point to Mackinac Island. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aSalas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear aSalas53,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We agree that our location makes it very convenient to catch the ferry to Mackinaw Island. There are several ways to get to the dock and all are good options depending on the weather. Both ferry lines have a free shuttle from our hotel to the dock. The walk is less than 15 minutes, it's a short bike ride, or should our guests choose to drive that takes less than five minutes.

Our staff tries hard to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay, thanks for noticing!

Please let us know the next time you are in Northern Michigan, we would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose this location after reading some of the reviews. Very nicely located and very clean property. The warm breakfast is a plus. Staff was all friendly and accommodating. Good choice.
the only thing I would change is the drapes do not close so you always have outside light on balcony on all night. Otherwise no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kity50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear kity50,

Thank you for the review! Here at the Holiday Inn Express, we want you to have a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are proud of our location and enjoy being steps away from the Colonial Michilimackinac historic fort and Old Mackinac Point lighthouse and park.

You are correct, the balcony lights do not have a switch, but there is a second set of blackout curtains in all our rooms, same as every good hotel I have stayed at. These curtains can be a bit hidden but they will block any light from entering the room.

Our team appreciates the review.

Sincerely,

Peter Havlena & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good with many choices. We did ask for a room with a view of the bridge 3 months in advance (which is advertised) to our stay and when we got there our room with a view of the bridge was a slim clearing between some tall trees. We were not offered any alternative by the staff when the complaint was made. The parking lot is really tight so if you have an suv good luck getting in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Brian B,

We are glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable.

Although we try our best to accommodate every guest request, our hotel does not offer any "bridge views." We do have north facing rooms but due to the trees and other obstructions as you mentioned there is not a clear view.

In regards to the parking lot, we do have two adjacent lots with plenty of room for large vehicles.

Again thank you for your review, we hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Peter Havlena
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good with many choices.
We did ask for a room with a view of the bridge 3 months in advance to our stay and when we got there our room with a view of the bridge was a slim clearing between some tall trees. We were not offered any alternative by the staff when the complaint was made.
The parking lot is really tight so if you have an suv good luck getting in and out.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BRIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Brian B,

We are glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable.

Although we try our best to accommodate every guest request, our hotel does not offer any "bridge views." We do have north facing rooms but due to the trees and other obstructions as you mentioned there is not a clear view.

In regards to the parking lot, we do have two adjacent lots with plenty of room for large vehicles.

Again thank you for your review, we hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Peter Havlena
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City last July for three nights. The location was excellent and enabled us to walk to the shopping venues and historic sites. The room was very clean and well-appointed. The complimentary breakfast was well stocked and offered a good variety of hot and cold items. Staff was generally friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms had a refrigerator and microwave. We needed a room with a roll-in shower, which was wheelchair accessible and the room chosen fit the bill perfectly.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear sheckman,

We appreciate the positive review. Please make us your first call next time you are in the area. We look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

P. Havlena & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews