We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent, in a good way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistent, in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

First, the negatives. The hallway on the third floor hallway is still that funky yellow (maize) color, and just the one, slow elevator. But that is it for the bad. The room was spacious, clean, and the view of the bridge was acceptable. The balcony was a nice perk, and pleasant place/view to enjoy an adult beverage while relaxing from a long drive. The breakfast was hot and well stocked. It helped that there was not busload of casino circuit seekers spending that night at the hotel. All in all, my expectations and confidence in the quality of my stay remained intact. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If paying for a room with bridge view, request a room located at/near end of hall. The view is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The entire staff and management would like to take this opportunity to, thank you, for posting your comments and the 4 Star Review. We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to have you as our guest. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main concern. As far as the yellow walls, well, we all hope one day the neutral paint fairy pays us a visit !!!

Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    153
    83
    41
    28
See reviews for
157
175
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Traveling in October gives you easy options for places to stay. Holiday Inn always delivers, especially when you are in a new place. BUT, the staff make or break your stay, right? This hotel is a bit older and does need some upgrades. Our room had the jacuzzi tub which was nice treat. Other amenities: fridge, microwave, coffee maker - all in good working condition. We had a great sleep - wonderful bed and pillow choices. I enjoyed the pool and hot tub - all very clean. Front desk guys at evening arrival weren't too thrilled to be there which made us feel unwelcome. Great hot breakfast in the morning with lots of good food and hot coffee. Housekeeping staff seem to be adequate but not with the same friendliness we have encountered on our trip. Next time we visit Mackinaw, we will be trying one of the other motels/hotels based on TripAdvisor reviews!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Tracy l,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate our guest's feedback, as our staff actually visits this site to read what our guests have to say. I am truly sorry it appeared the guys did not want to be working that night. As I stated, they do read reviews, sometimes before I do, and they are the ones that brings the review to my attention. Which is the perfect time for management to give the "pep talk", and make it a training moment. So again, thank you for that.

We are pleased you found, the hotel delivered on every other aspect of your stay, as an IHG Holiday Inn Brand. Striving to improve, the hotel has completed several phases of our property improvement plan.

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge, we sincerely appreciate your business and want you to be completely satisfied with your experience with us. As you mentioned, Tracy I, there are many other hotel options, during the summer months, however, we want to be a Great Hotel Guests Love!

D. Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A group of us stayed in town to ride the Mac Bridge bike ride, and we all remarked how rude and unfriendly people were in town and in the hotel in general. It's as if the people dependent on tourists don't really want them there. That can certainly be arranged, and in our case, we won't be back any time soon. We didn't have crying children, we didn't abuse booze, we weren't loud, so I don't think we did anything to cause the reaction.

The hotel was clean and quiet if you kept the ac/fan on at night. The hotel is adjacent to the freeway, so expect truck noise. The front desk staff and most (not all) of the business people we encountered for our weekend acted as if we were a big inconvience for them. It got to the point we all started to regret having to encounter anyone from wait staff to hotel clerks, as the sighs, hrmps, and frowns when we asked for anything were getting to be too much. The breakfast was the best I've had in a hotel, so due to that, I'll move my rating from "poor" to "average". Kudos to the cook!

So, I don't know if people were overworked, underpaid, tired, unhappy, something in the water. Whatever it is, business people in Mack City, you're going to need to step it up if you want people to consider you for tourism in the future. You're not cutting it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway and on the bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestUSA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear MidwestUSA62,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the inconvenience the service you received from our staff may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

There were several things we liked about this hotel. It had lots of luggage carts, the seating area for breakfast was large (though not quite large enough during the 9 o'clock hour of breakfast), breakfast was good, had Diet Mountain Dew in the vending machines, and the elevator was located at the end of the hotel rather than the middle which helped keep the rooms quiet. We never heard any noise from the hallway or other rooms even though the hotel was full. The room was clean. The beds were ok, not great. The location was very convenient to the Shepler's ferry docks and Fort Michilimackinac. However, compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in, the $142/night seemed a little steep.

We'd probably stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past few years. Here are the high points: the best part is that it's in a quieter part of Mackinaw City. Yes it's right next to I-75, but I was never bothered by truck noise. If you had your window open, sure, it could get a little noisy, but I kept my window closed and the AC on every time (visited in August and early September both times). I-75 runs right through the middle of Mackinaw City, so it's hard to get away from. The hotel is right across the street from Darrow's Restaurant (PIE!), large breakfast area (plenty of tables, unlike the Baymont last time I stayed there), friendly service from both housekeeping and front desk staff, within easy walking distance of Ft. Michilimacinac, old Mackinaw City Lighthouse, the bridge view park, the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers Association gift shop, etc. Breakfast is your usual Holiday Inn fare; pancakes (no more waffles), cinnamon rolls, fake eggs, sausage, cereal, breads, yogurt, etc. Better than your average continental breakfast. Lots of good points that make it worth paying the slightly higher rate than other area hotels. Luckily, the rate usually drops by almost half after Labor Day (paid $160 in August and $85 in September), so if you want to save a little money and when you travel isn't a big deal, travel the second or third week of September.

The only con was the fact that this hotel needs a little more attention to small details; a few minor things were broken or not right on both stays. The toilet seat lids were dangerously loose one visit, the doorknob on the connecting door between rooms kept falling off, the temperature control knob on one refrigerator was broken off, hair dryer wouldn't work in one room. Nothing earth-shattering enough to bother calling maintenance about, but a little annoying at the same time. I would suggest to management that they do a little better job checking for small things like this. Nevertheless, we always enjoy our stay here and will definitely be back in future years!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

While not offering water views, this newer hotel offers very clean, modern and well-appointed rooms with balconies and every possible amenity.
Free parking and WiFi and a complimentary hot breakfast are included.
Reception and checkout were very professional and efficient.
Good value and a comfortable sleep in a lovely lakeside resort town.

Room Tip: Just try to avoid times when tour buses bring in their groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a suite, which was more than enough room for our family of 6. The room was very clean and the beds/pillows were very comfortable. The room was decorated with dark and drab colors, though. One elevator, which was always busy.

The kids enjoyed the breakfast. The pool area is clean. And the front desk was very nice and helped us with dinner venues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing