We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Needs to”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed on the third floor as there were no rooms available on the fourth floor which is considered their best. Our room was large and had two balconies which needed to be cleaned(corner unit) with a "view" of the bridge. The staff was friendly for the most part - just seemed like they weren't "all there". the hall carpets need to be stretched or replaced. Breakfast was okay. The location of the hotel is not great compared to so many others we walked past. It overlooks the road to the bridge/parking lots, etc. The best part is that Mackinack City is a neat little town with it's own history (vs. Mackinack Island). Walking into town and the water is close and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi0561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Gigi0561,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    157
    83
    41
    28
See reviews for
160
181
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a find! Very clean, up to date hotel. We had an executive king on the 4th floor.. No view of the bridge, but that was okay. Extremely comfy beds. One of the better complimentary breakfasts with cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits and other breakfast foods
Not as closets the "main" street of the city, but a very easy drive
We would most definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very convenient to the highway. It is not right on the downtown area but it is a short drive to shops and ferries. The hotel room was roomy, very clean and comfortable. We could see the bridge from our room but I don't think all rooms would have the view due to trees. The breakfast was standard HIE but they did a nice job of handling the large number of people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

First impressions say a lot! The front desk clerk here was so terribly rude that we cancelled the rest of our stay and relocated to the holiday inn express in St Ignace. The lobby area is dirty, carpeting needs to be re-stretched and the fish tank is in serious need of maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montegomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjaree F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for staying with us this past week, and we value your honest feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. Here at the Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to all of our guests, and when that goal is not met we know we have to fix whatever it was that went wrong. Please be assured that the proper departments were informed of this review and were reminded of the courtesies and respect we are to show for each and every guest that walks through our doors. We hope that someday in the future you will return and let us show you the improvements we have made.

Best Regards,
Marjaree J Forbes
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for just one night with my dog Charlie. Nice location just a few blocks to town, but in a quite area. The rooms were well equipped, with comfortable beds. Very friendly staff and a nice breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Do yourself a favor and keep driving....sleeping in a tent or your car will be far better. This place needs to be bulldozed over...the pool area was just as bad....Sorry but the friendliness of the staff couldn't make up for its short comings....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StoutFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjaree F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your honest feedback about your stay with us in August, 2012. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with our hotel was unsatisfactory. When we hear a review like this we make sure that every department is aware of this and that everyone works hard to improve our facility as best as possible. Should you wish to share more details of your stay with me please feel free to contact me directly. Once again I apologize for your unpleasant stay and hope that maybe one day in the future we can show you our improvements!

Regards,
Marjaree J Forbess
Director of Sales
mforbes@expresspetoskey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The beds were terribly hard and I'm not too picky in that arena but they were awful. The help was okay, definitely didn't go out of their way to be friendly or helpful. When I asked a question at the front desk, I was told that wasn't their job and that I should ask a different person. I could live with a crappy bed or crappy service if one made up for the other but sadly both were lacking. Overall not at all impressed especially for the price we paid. We will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear japner,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the hard bed and the poor customer service provided by our front desk. I understand the discomfort this caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#23 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing