We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I decided to visit Mackinac Island and we came on a Thursday night. Unfortunately, the hotel we were interested in didn't have 2 nights available in the same room, so they recommended the Ramada down the road (most of the hotels in Mackinaw City are located on South Huron, one right after the next). The ladies at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful to us and got us set up with a room very quickly. The room itself was large and the bathroom was clean, which is pretty much all you can ask for. The indoor pool and hot tub were well kept and we enjoyed using them. The breakfast bar wasn't very big and the room was tightly packed, but the food was good. The one thing I'd change is the hotel decor. The marine motif inside the hotel and rooms make the place look like a relic. It needs to get more modern in that regard. The location can't be beat-it shares a parking lot with one of the ferries that run to Mackinac Island, and it's a 15-20 minute walk around the shopping and entertainment district in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    85
    98
    73
    59
See reviews for
162
145
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night before we went to the island, the room was outdated and the elivator wasn't working. We went for a walk at night and as we were walking out the door there were huge spiders on webs all along the railing I hate spiders and was not a fan of walking past them. Customer service was alright the majority of people working that we spoke with didn't speak very good english but could answer questions if you focused on what they were saying. Over all I don't know that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Customer623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night before heading to Mackinac Island. It was so bad we literally almost left to the island early and got another reservation. As we didn't want to be out 160 dollars plus the cost of another room we stuck it out.

The hotel is very outdated and dirty. The rooms smell moldy and terrible and the bathrooms are disgusting. It is the type of place you don't want to take your shoes off and sleep in the beds for fear of diseases. My husband and I couldnt stop laughing at our room decor. There were these tapestry type wall hangings that were covered in large white cotton balls. A very strange choice of decoration.

The woman who checked us in was not very friendly and the pop machines do not work...when it took my dollar..finally.. It wouldn't take another...I pressed the money back button..no money back. I went to go get some coins instead..in the 30 seconds I was gone the machine re set itself and the dollar I put in was gone. I realize it is just a dollar but considering the several other problems this was just another annoying thing.
Also...we signed up for a lake view...the view is 5% lake 95% parking lot. If you want a view of the lake make sure you pay for a waterfront view.

My overall recommendation is to stay at a different hotel. There were several others that looked far better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guerns17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you like spiders and sharing your room with them, this is the hotel for you! You'll find spiders everywhere - on the bed, in the bathroom, on the refrigerator/microwave cabinets, in the balcony...everywhere! We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - BIG MISTAKE! Pay a bit more and stay at either Hamilton Inn across the parking lot or at Baymont Inn. The "free" breakfast sucks - old dried bread, bagels, muffins, undercooked eggs! The "free" waterpark tickets that was included in the hotel price is for the waterpark good for kids under 5 years. The beds and comforter were smelling bad. Carpet was old and smelly too. WILL NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am 25, i get that sometimes you need a roof over your head when you're travelling around, but this was the worst hotel i've stayed in, i've stayed in better tents in Africa!

Smelly, old, dirty, stained sheets, and paper thin walls so i was kept up for part of the night by my noisy neighbours, and i don't mean chatting! So, it was a horrible experience.

It was convenient to the Ferry dock, but if i were you, i'd spend an extra $20 and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the most convenient to the ferries that take passengers to Mackinac Island. The Arnold ferry line is on one side and the Starline is on the other side. It is also a short walk to the restaurants and shopping area in Mackinaw City.

This hotel has a nautical/Mackinac Island theme to it. All the rooms come with king and/or queen beds which were very comfortable. The room was also very quiet.

The breakfast bar had more food than we were expecting. We knew they had make your own waffles and standard continental breakfast food, but they also had scrambled eggs and sausage. The breakfast room had windows overlooking Lake Huron and other windows overlooking the pool.

All guests of the hotel receive discounts at many of the restaurants and shops in Mackinaw City. The hotel also gives guests a wristband that can be used for free admission to waterparks located at three hotels in Mackinaw City.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the air conditioner not working in our room, so they immediately moved us to another room which had everything working.

The one downside was that there was a cleaning agent that housekeeping used which had a very strong odor.

Given the convenience of the hotel to the ferries, good breakfast bar, and attentive service from the staff, we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the king size beds are only on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely hotel. We had a lake view room with balcony and it was just gorgeous! The room was clean and had lots of room. The desk help was very nice. The housekeepers were great! Would recommend to anyone who wants quality at a decent price. Beach was very nice. We would stay there again. Breakfast and hostess were great as well.

Room Tip: Get a lake front room with balcony, it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront

Property: Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Address: 723 South Huron / I-75, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Ramada Hotel Mackinaw City
Ramada Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing